We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Fun Cruise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Dragon Cruises

Black Dragon Cruises
501 E Maxan St - Suite C, Port Isabel, TX 78597
956-943-6283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Port Isabel
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted top cruise attraction in the state of Texas. When planning your things to do activities in the South Padre Island area, a pirate adventure cruise aboard the Black Dragon is a must. Activities includepre-board entertainment, mock cannon battles, face painting, water pistol fights, dolphin watching, sword duels, treasure raids, sightseeing, general hi-jinks, fun and more fun. We'll be looking for you. AARRGGHH!
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Fun Cruise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had seen youtube videos of the Black Dragon and my children were very excited to take the cruise. I must say the trip exceeded anything we could have imagined! Our trip started with a vaudeville type show performed by Rubie the Pirate Queen. Rubie was wonderful, before the show she took the time to introduce herself to all of the children in the audience. Her routine reminded me of Lucille Ball. Next we boarded the ship and were introduced to the crew. This lively bunch or pirates entertained us for the entire cruise. They interacted with everyone on board, not just the kids! Everyone had a great time! We will be taking another cruise the next time we are down in SPI. The crew did a great job while we were out on the water, so if they are reading this review: Capitan Andy, Mako Molly, Blade, Stingray, and especially Robo Todo, Thank you all very much for making our trip to SPI very memorable!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    7
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Coming from Schlitterbahn this show had big shoes to fill and that they did. We had a wonderful time. Don't worry about motion sickness, the ship stays in the bay. We would definitely take this cruise again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Adventure! Great for kids and parents!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was by far a must if you have children! Well worth your money! We did the evening cruise for 3 hours and even before we got on the boat we were entertained! From them moment we were on...it was non stop activities until we docked! Great fireworks, great staff, wonderful good clean family fun! Would do it again for sure!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blossom, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pirate Ship Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was one of our favorite things we did while in South Padre Island. Kids really liked it. The show they performed was great. They let all the kids participate with them and gave out treasures to them. Really a must see adventure. They have three trips a day. I recommend the evening one. You get to see the fireworks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My family had the best time. Total fun for parents and kids. A must see. Take the evening show. We will go again.
xoxoxo
High Maintance
The Williams Family

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dragon Cruises also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Black Dragon Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Dragon Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.