We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-standard for a Holiday Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2929 Jimmy Johnson Blvd., Port Arthur, TX 77642   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Port Arthur
League City, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sub-standard for a Holiday Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Nice building and accommodations, but a lack of attention to detail makes this a less than desirable location. I killed two huge roaches in the hallway outside my room at different times...who knows how many are still there? The breakfast buffet is barely that. One meat and very few selections. All the staff is very nice and helpful, looks like management just needs to give them the tools to make this a better place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Keith699,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the cleanliness of the hallway prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
3
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plantersville, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

After reading a few reviews I was a little concerned about the hotel. After checking in, i am pleased with the room and overall experience at the hotel. The design and layout is dated, but appears to have been remodeled in the not to distant past. Has restaurant in lobby that is acceptable if you don't want to go out for dinner.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Had the pleasure of meeting hotel owner who was busy setting up a beautiful Christmas display in the hotel's lobby. What a treasure to see. My wife and I took our grand daughter there which as one might expect, her little eyes were saucer big.
This whas become an annual traidtion for us when in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We like to have direct access to our vehicle and this place has ir. Very nice updated room. Impressive decor. Nicest staff anywhere. The restaurant was great for a late meal after traveling all day. Bar looked real nice. Right on the major highways for any direction. Desk gave perfect directions on departure for detour to Galveston. Likely the best stay in Port Arthur and at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Doubles have outside great access.Park right at your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Due to a mix up on our reservations at Holiday Inn Express and no rooms available to meet out needs we were sent over this hotel.
Pro: The receptionist Debbie was great. She was very friendly and helpful in getting us two rooms close together considering most hotels were full due to the baseball and other activities for the weekend. The location was great. Very close to the mall and places to eat. Easy access to US 69.
CONS: This is not what I would consider a hotel for the section that we stayed in. It was very oblivious it had been renovated. New comfortable bedding and furniture. But the rooms are exterior rooms, doors open to outside, and although the rooms appeared cleaned they smelled old and musty. The air conditioner was so loud we did not run it in order for us to sleep. Thankful it was not to hot. Neither my husband nor I are very large but the bathroom was small and cramped. There is no closet. The closet area is in the vanity area with a small rack. This is definitely not a hotel by my standards.
I would only recommend it if you don't mind this type of setup. For me it would not be worth the regular price being charged nor meet the security needs if your have children or a group staying together that will be visiting from room to room. We travel with large family groups and with our kids and grandkids. The hotel setup, cleanliness, and security is very important to us.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear BOWDY,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience this has invariably caused you.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and may use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was excited to stay at this property because the pics made it look beautiful and i thought it was an interior corridor. Not the case. Only the king beds are interior. There is no kind of breakfast bar. While the pool had a nice layout but it was not clean. Bugs and dubris were floating about. The staff was neither friendly nor rude. They were just there. No smile or warm welcome at check in. I called the front desk and asked for tissues because there were none in the room and my daughter had a cold. Never did get those tissues. I expected better from a hotel that was $110 a night. I recommend the Laquina across the street. Much better as far as pricing, staff and ALL rooms are interior.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Jessie L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, your comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the inconvenience the overall condition of the hotel may have caused you. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We enjoyed our two week stay. Rooms are cleaned daily, sheets changed, and the beds are so comfortable. The pool was amazing, surrounded by palm trees,  lounge chairs and tables! The gym was nice with two treadmills, stair-stepper, weight machine, and two TVs. Complimentary bath and bodyworks lotion, shampoo, conditioner, and face/body soap. So much nicer than the normal stinky hotel soaps.  Hotel staff was very friendly. The only con was having to ask for a mini refrigerator and microwave, which should be standard in every room. The hotel restaurant breakfast was overprice and really should have been complimentary for the price of the room. Overall, a nice hotel and an enjoyable stay. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central

Address: 2929 Jimmy Johnson Blvd., Port Arthur, TX 77642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Port Arthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central Hotel offers 164 guest rooms consisting of 101 kings and 7 suites, in a courtyard and tower type setting. Additional hotel features include a tropical outdoor swimming pool, large sundeck, gazebo and patio dining. The Holiday Inn is adjacent to Babe Zaharias golf course and 2 blocks from Central Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central Hotel Port Arthur
Port Arthur Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.