We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2929 Jimmy Johnson Blvd., Port Arthur, TX 77642   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Port Arthur
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Super Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We like to have direct access to our vehicle and this place has ir. Very nice updated room. Impressive decor. Nicest staff anywhere. The restaurant was great for a late meal after traveling all day. Bar looked real nice. Right on the major highways for any direction. Desk gave perfect directions on departure for detour to Galveston. Likely the best stay in Port Arthur and at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Doubles have outside great access.Park right at your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
6
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Due to a mix up on our reservations at Holiday Inn Express and no rooms available to meet out needs we were sent over this hotel.
Pro: The receptionist Debbie was great. She was very friendly and helpful in getting us two rooms close together considering most hotels were full due to the baseball and other activities for the weekend. The location was great. Very close to the mall and places to eat. Easy access to US 69.
CONS: This is not what I would consider a hotel for the section that we stayed in. It was very oblivious it had been renovated. New comfortable bedding and furniture. But the rooms are exterior rooms, doors open to outside, and although the rooms appeared cleaned they smelled old and musty. The air conditioner was so loud we did not run it in order for us to sleep. Thankful it was not to hot. Neither my husband nor I are very large but the bathroom was small and cramped. There is no closet. The closet area is in the vanity area with a small rack. This is definitely not a hotel by my standards.
I would only recommend it if you don't mind this type of setup. For me it would not be worth the regular price being charged nor meet the security needs if your have children or a group staying together that will be visiting from room to room. We travel with large family groups and with our kids and grandkids. The hotel setup, cleanliness, and security is very important to us.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear BOWDY,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience this has invariably caused you.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and may use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was excited to stay at this property because the pics made it look beautiful and i thought it was an interior corridor. Not the case. Only the king beds are interior. There is no kind of breakfast bar. While the pool had a nice layout but it was not clean. Bugs and dubris were floating about. The staff was neither friendly nor rude. They were just there. No smile or warm welcome at check in. I called the front desk and asked for tissues because there were none in the room and my daughter had a cold. Never did get those tissues. I expected better from a hotel that was $110 a night. I recommend the Laquina across the street. Much better as far as pricing, staff and ALL rooms are interior.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Jessie L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, your comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the inconvenience the overall condition of the hotel may have caused you. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We enjoyed our two week stay. Rooms are cleaned daily, sheets changed, and the beds are so comfortable. The pool was amazing, surrounded by palm trees,  lounge chairs and tables! The gym was nice with two treadmills, stair-stepper, weight machine, and two TVs. Complimentary bath and bodyworks lotion, shampoo, conditioner, and face/body soap. So much nicer than the normal stinky hotel soaps.  Hotel staff was very friendly. The only con was having to ask for a mini refrigerator and microwave, which should be standard in every room. The hotel restaurant breakfast was overprice and really should have been complimentary for the price of the room. Overall, a nice hotel and an enjoyable stay. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel is a renovated, old Holiday Inn. It is a "full service" hotel with a restaurant. If you get a room, make sure it is in the "tower" or your room will have a door that opens up into the parking lot.

Rooms are modern, wireless works fine, and the restaurant is nothing special but is suitable if you prefer not to venture out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear ALTravellor,

Thank you for your feedback, and choosing our hotel. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel was a last minute decision after the hotel we had originally booked had no water. We were a large party and the hotel was able to accommodate all of us; the rooms very clean, very efficient and the staff was very helpfu and friendly. We initially didn't book this hotel due to some negative reviews on other travel sites, but were pleasantly surprised. Would definitely stay there again if in town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, MD
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This was my second recent stay in a Holiday Inn and the experience was not good. It seems that more attention is placed on giving the hotel a face lift than attending to the basics of a well run hotel. My room wasn't as clean as I would have liked, as I found nail clippings on the floor. The new multipurpose console in my room had a space for a decent minifridge but it was empty. Instead, there was a tiny yet noisy fridge on the floor near the door that I had to unplug because it was so loud. When I used the exercise room in the morning, there were no towels or wipes. The staff at the front desk seemed very poorly trained and unprofessional. Not that I am expecting a lot here. Several times while in the lobby I overheard the receptionist on the phone with her friends talking about last night's party.

But the worst was the poor service. We left prepaid FedEx packages at the front desk to be returned to our office. After two weeks when the packages were not received, my assistant telephoned. The receptionist answered "Hello" (not Holiday Inn). My assistant inquired about the packages and was told they didn't have them. My assistant was persistant and the receptionist looked harder and said "Yes, we have them." She was asked why they were not picked up and she responded "You have to call FedEx youself," something I was never told at the time. When asked "Isn't this a service you provide for your guests?" the answer was a flat "No." Come on! You have packages clearly labeled with names, addresses, and phone numbers that are in your storage for two weeks and you do nothing about it? The hotel must receive daily FedEx shipments and not once could anyone connect the dots/

I'm beginning to think this may be a chain-wide issue for Holiday Inn. Shame on you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Arthur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Arthur
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Arthur
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Arthur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Beaumont Port Arthur
0.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#6 of 18 in Port Arthur
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
3.8 mi away
Three Rivers Inn & Suites Port Arthur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central

Address: 2929 Jimmy Johnson Blvd., Port Arthur, TX 77642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Port Arthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central Hotel offers 164 guest rooms consisting of 101 kings and 7 suites, in a courtyard and tower type setting. Additional hotel features include a tropical outdoor swimming pool, large sundeck, gazebo and patio dining. The Holiday Inn is adjacent to Babe Zaharias golf course and 2 blocks from Central Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central Hotel Port Arthur
Port Arthur Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port Arthur-Park Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.