We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROOM WAS JUST OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mainstay Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mainstay Suites to your Saves list
Mainstay Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7648 Memorial Blvd., Port Arthur, TX 77642   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Port Arthur
Houston, Texas
1 review
“ROOM WAS JUST OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

As a choice hotel manager I have stayed in many hotels that need improvement. Been a general manager of a hotel myself I know what to look for in a room. All I can say is that the room was clean. However, the smell coming from the hallways was horrible and the room also had a musty smell that was fixed once we open the window to the balcony and the ac was turned on. Breakfast was poor came down at 700am and it was almost all gone and no breakfast attendant to replenish.They should have someone there to replenish breakfast items that is how i do it at my hotel. The staff was great very friendly, however the property itself needs some work.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floor have less odor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just spent three nights at the MainStay Suites in Port Arthur. Had enough points for three free nights. And I got my money's worth--just about. As has been said, the second floor corridor smells like a combination of poop, mildew and boiled cabbage! Strangely, though, the room did not smell all that bad. However, I had asked for a king sized bed--discovered after putting my things in, going out and much later when I did not feel up to moving, it was queen sized. However, on the plus side, the bed was better than some economy motels I have stayed at. But, the microwave blower was on and we couldn't turn it off. Reported it to the manager who fixed it by pulling the breaker on it. The kitchenette was not overly clean and there were NO glasses of any sort there. The desk couldn't supply any, but I was able to get some stryfoam cups from the breakfast bar. Ah, the breakfast bar. By 7:30 it was wiped out except for neon colored cereal. All fruit gone. The juice dispenser was "froze up," I was told, ergo no juice. Forget breakfast there unless you hit them at 6:00 a.m. When I suggested that they should refill the items for those who prefer to eat their breakfast on vacation at a more decent hour, say 8:00 to 9:00 would have something. I was answered by a shrug of the shoulder from an employee. The people in the room next to ours said none of that bothered them as they had six stinky little baseball players in town for a game, and all they wanted was space to bed them down. So for this purpose it must be fine. Also, for workmen who just need a place to bathe and sleep. Not so great for someone to enjoy on vacation and visiting.

Room Tip: If you smoke, ask for the 4th floor or a room with a balcony. Ours had a balcony which was ankle de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We decided to go on a roadtrip this christmas and our first stay was in port aurthor at the Mainstay Suites. Even though this hotel is on the main highway our GPS had a bit of a hard time locating it, so we called the hotel. The front desk clerk told us she wasnt very good at giving directions so we had to ask her a million questions before we located the place. The room was great, it was spacious enough for our family of 5. It had a small kitchen, and everything one might need to feel comfortable. The breakfast was nothing special, dont expect a warm breakfast but the main things are there. Overall, this hotel is great for a family who needs a large space with a kitchen and the room was very clean. I gave this hotel a four stars just because the front desk clerk wasnt very knowledgable about her hotel's location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Had to find a hotel within government per diem rates in Port Arthur at the last minute and Mainstay Suites was only one available. As Chase71 says the smell in the second floor hallway was unbearable. The smell entering the room was worse. I had to run out and purchase Air Freshener. My room was directly behind the elevators although when I booked I requested a room away from the elevators, its as if they didn't even look at the booking. When I complained the person at the front desk didn't seem to care too much. So I called my travel agent and had them find anything under per diem in the area. I even considered Beaumont, 15 miles away, even though I was working less than 1/4 mile from the Mainstay suites.
The suite is large, although sparesly furnished without enough lights. The bathroom was very clean considering the smell of the room and the run down appearance of the hotel, especially the hallway.

Room Tip: My tip is to find a different hotel, sorry that's the best I can do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

In 2009 I spent a total of 4 months at this hotel.
I stumbled across this place due to another Extended type hotel not being available.
Every room has a kitchen W/dishwasher and fridge.
Staff is friendly, Housekeeping everyday...
I feel like Family at this hotel.
When ever I am in the Port Arthur area working this is the place I stay BAR NONE.
If you do refinery work, like to stay in a nice clean and quiet place with a Kitchen, this IS the place.
If your more into LOUD PARTYING, please stay somewhere else...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I dislike knocking a property from the start of a review but everyone considering this hotel needs to be aware. I stayed on the second floor. When you exit the elevator the entire 2nd floor hallway smells like it's a smoking floor. But it's not over yet. Once you exit the hallway to enter your room the smell is instantly replaced by an equally strong musky mildew odor. I changed rooms on the second floor and both rooms had the same strong order. So when I would return to the hotel after work and exit the elevator the double tap was too much for me. I had to go to another hotel.

Otherwise, if you stay on the 1st floor, or the 3rd floor is better and the rooms don't smell the hotel is decent. The "continental" breakfast is pretty basic, the cable line up is good and the internet service is fair. But I'd be cautious before you commit to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

We arrived as a small group. Then we grew to a large crew, each immensely different in personalities but that didn't mean a thing to the staff at the Port Arthur Mainstay. From day one, and I was the sixth arrival of a later group of 60, we had a home. A safe home! The area was devasted by Hurricane Ike but we never knew it, the maintenance staff was amazing. Many of the desk and housekeeping crew had lost their own beds, homes and property but it was a shameful afterthought to stop and ask them how THEY were doing, while we slept in warm, clean, very comfortable and spacious rooms lacking nothing. The
I was lead secretary, I know just about every type of room layout our team was in. All were really nice! The kitchenette was stocked, the bathroom modern, the bed large and pillows were awesome.
We had security. We saw families, laughing & happy. We saw pets. We were there for Halloween (fun staff!!) and Thanksgiving (and let me tell you, if you're there for Thanksgiving, you'll have a home away from home, with friends & guests all enjoying and appreciating a loving spread of Giving) and a full determination by the crew to make you feel better. And this crew did this every day.
Would I recommend others at this hotel. You bet. Would I return? Yup, you Bet.
The personal respect and professionalism is plenty, but the caring was unbeatable.

  • Liked — The Staff and the accomodations
  • Disliked — can't think of anything.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Arthur hotels
3.9 mi away
Three Rivers Inn & Suites Port Arthur
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Arthur
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Arthur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Port Arthur
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Arthur
0.6 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#8 of 18 in Port Arthur
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Suites

Address: 7648 Memorial Blvd., Port Arthur, TX 77642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Port Arthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mainstay Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mainstay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainstay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.