We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Watch Birds.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leonabelle Turnbull Birding Center

Leonabelle Turnbull Birding Center
710 W Avenue a, Port Aransas, TX 78373
+1 361-749-4111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Port Aransas
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Watch Birds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

People are very friendly and willing to share their knowledge, experience and scopes. Hope to return.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    33
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
F'burg
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

After the bustle of the town, the quiet of the Birding Center seems almost other-worldly. Go with your bird book or hope an expert's also there- there are more birds and more varieties than the amateur would ever identify.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A bit crowded, but good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We liked the location -close to the town- and the setup of the place for birding. We did not like the wind that day, as it blew the marvellous pungent odour of the water treatment plant clear up our noses. Ah well, the joys of urban birding, I suppose. Still and all, it is a nice, pleasant place and easy to get around. I would not want to be there with more than about 30 birders wrestling for a look at a rare bird, though. That would get a tad cramped.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Added 5 to my lifelist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A short 500' board walk with many waterfowl to see. We spent two hours there as the birds come and go. Saw several turtles but no Aligators.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, OH
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good relaxing part of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

And free!!! Enjoyed the 150 yard or so wooden walk that skirts a large wetland. Many ducks and other birds to see. A little tower to climb allowed you a little higher viewpoint. Was a neat 1/2 hour respite on my trip. You should also go to the park by the ferry -- very active place with people fishing, boats going in an out of the marina, you can see the ferry and if you are there at the right time, could see freighters going by (as well as dolphins). Less than 5 minutes from the Birding Center.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonabelle Turnbull Birding Center also viewed

 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Leonabelle Turnbull Birding Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonabelle Turnbull Birding Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.