We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel that is very close to the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 East Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent hotel that is very close to the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Overall, this was a decent place that is very close to the beach. The rooms are fairly large, there was more than enough room for our family (parents and one 2 year old). Rooms did not get very much sun light, so towels and bathing suits did not get 100% dry. Walls between rooms were thick, so we didn't hear from our neighbors at all, unless they were out in the hall. Continental breakfast in the morning was better than expected, with fruit, cereal, begals, etc as well as milk for our son.

The best part about this hotel is that is is about 2 blocks from the beach, so you can walk to and from without any problems. If your goal is to spend as much time as possible on the beach and only come back to the hotel to sleep, I would highly recommend the Best Western Ocean Villa at Port Aransas. If you plan to spend some time in the hotel or would like more than the basics, you should probably look somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    108
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
162
179
17
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Just returned from a 3 night stay over labor day weekend. Service from the front desk personnel was outstanding. Rooms were clean and everything was in good working order. The pool is a nice way to cool off and relax after a day at the beach. And speaking of beach, hotel is only about 3 blocks from the beach. You can walk to the beach if you arent taking much with you, otherwise just a quick drive and you are there. Also well located to a convience store, restaurants, and shopping. Adequate parking provided. Room AC worked great during a hot couple of days as did the ice machines. Breakfast was good, nothing fancy of course but good . Front desk staff were friendly, assisting, and professional. Would recommend and will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

The beds were very comfortable, the room was very nice, A/C worked fine, no complaints other than a slight musty smell. Great breakfast served 'til 10. The best part was the staff, though--super nice, helped us make arrangements to see things in town. Really made the stay pleasant. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

The rooms were VERY clean. The staff was very friendly, and the location was just about as close to the beach as you could get for a hotel. I would stay there again. Pretty good selection for a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western and appreciated Kara and staff. What we loved most was being close to the beach! Our girls could walk to the beach , a few blocks away., maybe 5 or so.
You have to remember that this is a culture trip. This is not the Caribbean ocean. The town has its own laid back feel to it. For Texas, this beach is great! This beach is cleaned daily and there is a caring lifeguard there. This is very important since not all beaches are cleaned daily ! You will need to pay $12 to park near the beach.( the sticker that you are given is good all year for most the beaches around this area). It is easy to get stuck in the sand at this beach when parking your car so be careful.
Take lots of sunscreen. You may want to buy your own large umbrella , or portable awning to take with you . If not, it is $25.daily to rent a large umbrella. It is needed if you spend the whole day at the beach which we did and loved it!
Drinking lots of water helps to keep headaches away when spending hours at the beach!
The beach is nice in that it is 3 hours closer than South Padre Island if you are coming from Central Texas area which we did . In other words, you can make it to the beach in about 8 hours! That is great for Central Texas!
We enjoyed traveling down to this are by the divided highway and the free 5 minute ferry. The area of Aransas Pass and driving into Port Aransas does not look the best.
However, it was a geography lesson to see the coastal region of Texas, sand dunes, etc.
Bring your own plunger for the bathroom. We saw several outside of rooms. You have to fix the toilet should you have minor problems . This is true for many modern water efficiency toilets.
We liked utilizing the wash/ dryer near the pool. We loved the pool!
For the area, thanks to trip Advisor reviews, we were glad that we chose Best Western.
Also, we appreciate the Best Western hotel policy that allows senior citizens to be classified as 55 to get a discount on rooms! This helped! You do not have to be an AAA member. This applies to all hotels!
We appreciate the kindness of Kara to book our next Best Western hotel as we continued our travel and for coupons for area events.
The hot breakfast was nice !
There are jelly fish at times in this beach area. There is a repellent that you can buy for this. Our daughter got stung , but the very kind and helpful life guard put on alcohol and meat tenderizer which helped.
All in all, we loved the beach! It was a great vacation! We are looking forward to going again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel July 17-20/2010. I would have to agree with KurtHa's review, that pretty much sums it up. We did not have a problem with the AC, it is noisy but we are used to that and you need the AC on in South Texas in July.

Staff were great and very helpful and the in-room internet was great but bring an ethernet cable with you,. This and the Holiday Inn down the street are the only hotels I would stay in if in Port Aransas again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

This was just the nicest place. The rooms were large, clean, very comfortable, and upscale. It was much more than I expected! I have a bad back and just had knee surgery. I was glad to have a very comfortable bed! Great night's rest plus a nap!
The breakfast was wonderful. My grandaughter loved the waffles. My brother was able to catch all the golf game on the TV. And the place is a close walk to the beach. We were here for a family reunion and would recommend it to everyone. The staff located and saved an heirloom photo I left in the room after checkout. I'm so glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa

Address: 400 East Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Aransas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Villa Hotel Port Aransas
Best Western Port Aransas
Port Aransas Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.