We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia's Landing Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amelia's Landing Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amelia's Landing Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   105 N Alister Street, Mustang Island, Port Aransas, TX 78373 (Formerly Harbor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Port Aransas
Boerne, Tx
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went to Port A for a few days to escape my hometown.LOL. Stayed here because of the reviews and the decor. I was pleasantly surprised. I loved the one story buildings and the decor.The breakfast was adequate and you had choices. It was close to everything. The staff was very friendly. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
26
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The staff was very friendly and the room was clean. The location was right in downtown Port A, so everything was easy to get to in our rented golf cart. What I really enjoyed was being able to step outside of the one story building and my truck and golf cart were just a few steps away. No elevator or luggage cart needed. The pool was clean and the four person hot tub was nice. The delivered breakfast was simple, but did the job. My only complaint would have been that I only got a queen bed room, and it was small. No closet, luggage rack, sitting table, and the fridge was so small that a gallon of milk wouldn't fit. I'd stay there again, but with the two queen beds or larger. To sum it up, it's not fancy, but an enjoyable place to stay, at least in the off season.

Note: I think "Beach ya kart" rental has the best price on golf carts. Hwy 361 @ E. Ave G

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland Springs ,Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here one night my husband and I just drove down for the day. The room was clean and very nice the breakfast was good ,could have been better if the muffins crossant had been toasted are at least warm . The location is ideal if you want to walk around and have a few drinks ,you don't have to worry about driving because everthing is pretty close. Overall we enjoyed our stay but, I thought it was a bit pricy for what you get .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We decided at the last minute to go to Port A. We have traveled to Europe but had never been to Port A .
Called Amelia's Landing the night before and they had a room available. This was Labor Day Weekend.
The room was Extra Clean and freshly painted. Enjoyed our breakfast the next morning that was brought to our door. Had a nice modern tv, most hotels have the old tv's. Will stay here again!!!

Room Tip: We Stayed at The Constellation Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The owners are responsive and friendly. Unfortunately, we had an issue with a next door neighbor that kept us awake all night and there was not any information given (at check-in or in the book on the table in the room) to help us know who/what number to call in the event of a problem. After we called the office number listed on the business card and reported the nuisance at 5:30 a.m., it was addressed by the owner, but didn't stop. You finally give up because you are exhausted and are just hoping the nuisance leaves. Highly suggest you find out what number to call in case of an emergency (sheriff/constable/??) since there is no phone or phone book in your room. A/C was great, bed was awful. Breakfast was mediocre at best. The only thing we liked were the croissants..OJ in a Texsun can is not worth drinking IMHO. Coffee mugs were a nice touch since we brought our own coffee in order to have fresh coffee (as opposed to package they provide).

Pool is clean. Parking is fine. Just remember, you will be staying in an outside facing room and so you'll likely hear every car door unlocking, every door slamming, etc. I should have read the TA reviews closer before booking here. Tile in the rooms makes for a noisy floor across the adjoining rooms, although it is better than carpeting. There was no closet in our single queen room (don't know about the others), so it made it an even tighter fit once we hung up our garment bag on the hook provided.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjhoneck, Owner at Amelia's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We feel terrible about what happened with this guest, and wish to apologize profusely. Unfortunately, their neighbors on this sold-out weekend -- a nice-looking young couple -- turned out to be trouble. According to that guest, "Someone slipped something in their drink." and they were completely out of it all night long, making noise and causing over $150 in damage to their room. (Which they have been charged for, by the way.)

This is the racket the reviewer heard. As soon as she called to report the noise problem, we instantly responded. The trouble maker promised to quiet down, and was observed to do so. The reviewer was told to "call us back if the noise resumed." She did not.

All guests receive our business card at check-in, with our 24-hour front desk number on it -- and it is printed on Page 1 of the Guest Amenities book in every room. Had the reviewer called back to report that the noise had resumed, I would have personally ejected the trouble-maker from the hotel -- period. But that call never came.

We take noise complaints EXTREMELY seriously. We do not accept walk-ins after bar-time, for example, even if we're not sold out, simply because they are nothing but walking noise complaints waiting to be born. But we can only respond to them if we are aware of them. I do a walk-around the property several times each night, and have been known to warn people to keep it down even BEFORE we receive any complaints -- but I simply cannot read minds.
--
Jay Honeck
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I would recommend this place. It isn't the nicest place ever, but clean and they take good care of you. Location is also nice with easy access to one of the main roads. Beach is about five minutes away. We took our granddaughter who had a place and loved the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Benito, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family just spent a weekend at Amerlia's Landing. The rooms were very comfortable, the pool was a great place to end the day. The continental breakfast delivered to our rooms was delicious. The personnel were helpful and the grounds were immaculate. I have been a travel agent for 25 years and will recommend Amlia's Landing. Ideal location too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amelia's Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia's Landing Hotel

Address: 105 N Alister Street, Mustang Island, Port Aransas, TX 78373 (Formerly Harbor Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amelia's Landing Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia's Landing is an aviation themed boutique hotel in the heart of Port Aransas, TX. The hotel was extensively remodeled and completely redecorated in 2013, with all new HDTVs, beds, unique historic artwork and memorabilia, a new pool, and new hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Amelia's Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia's Landing Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.