We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Get Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia's Landing Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amelia's Landing Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amelia's Landing Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   105 N Alister Street, Mustang Island, Port Aransas, TX 78373 (Formerly Harbor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Port Aransas
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little Get Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a great little Hotel right in the Heart of Port A. The rooms are fresh and clean. They are a bit small but other than that it was great. The location is the best on the Island it only takes minutes to go anywhere on the Island. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Ac also keproom very cool which is always a big plus at the beach!!Showers were also very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
26
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Overall experience of this motel was great. We stayed two nights here. We stayed in the Tigers Room. Nice a/c, bathroom, beds, breakfast and pool. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was very clean. The showers could really use the CURVED shower rod though. This would make the tub feel more roomy to the customer. The a/c kept the room cool. Breakfast was a small can of apple juice, blueberry muffin and a fruit cup. Nothing fancy, but good. The pool was ok. I never met or spoke to the owners while I was there but I have read plenty of reviews on their kindness. Never experienced it for myself. We hung up the 'donot disturb' sign and we were not bothered at all. Our last two days in Port A were great. Then we headed up to Rockport to the Lighthouse Inn where we stayed our last 3 nights on vacation. Would recommend this motel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Personally, we are quite tired of the rather sterile environment of the "chains" and found Amelia's a great alternative. Nothing fancy, mind you, but clean and comfortable for our couple of nights on the Island. Can't beat the kindness and attention of the owners and it is obvious they are working very hard at continuing to bring this property to the best level they can. Not an easy task for an older place but most admirable.

Our stay was hassle/problem free and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in #18 at the end so we missed any sort of nuisance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel has everything you need really, location is great, breakfast was good, and there was a pool. The rooms are old with wood paneling and our queen bed was uncomfortable. The TV was nice as well as the fridge. I also enjoyed the little porch area to sit on during the rain. I'd say it was a decent room/price for the location.

As for the service, right off the bat we were not impressed with the lady who owned the place as she noticed our dogs barking in our car when we arrived. She must have been having a bad day. She was quite abrasive, "we do not allow loud barking dogs." Mind you, our small dogs had been couped up in the car for hours and just wanted to get out. We look much younger than we are so I'm sure she just thought we were unruly kids with no respect for others. She then made sure we knew that there were no refunds for being asked to leave due to barking dogs. I completely understand that, but as a first impression "welcome" it was terrible. She eventually warmed up to us the next day after we talked about flying planes in the military. We didn't have any issues with our dogs barking throughout our stay.

This was our 3rd trip to Port A. and now that we are based a little closer (5 hours) we hope to do many more trips. We've stayed on base, at America's Value Inn and now Amelia's. America's Value had a more updated room with more space for pet friendly rooms. We are still looking for that perfect spot!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjhoneck, Owner at Amelia's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
With regard to this review, it is important to note that we place guests with animals in our oldest rooms. These rooms have not been remodeled yet, and will naturally have the oldest, least valuable furniture.

We love dogs -- we own one -- but animals can destroy a hotel room in minutes, and we're not going to put one of our newly remodeled rooms at-risk.

At Amelia's Landing we set a VERY firm tone with pet owners. No one wants to stay in a room next to barking dogs, and unfortunately we have had situations where pet owners parked their dogs in a room, and then left for the beach -- all day. Needless to say, the poor animals barked incessantly -- it's not their fault, nor do we blame them. However, that doesn't mean we expect our other valued guests to suffer for them, nor will we tolerate them.

The guest who left this review had two dogs that were barking loudly as they pulled into the parking lot. Needless to say, we immediately made it clear to them that this behavior would not be tolerated, so that they could make other hotel arrangements if they so desired. We would much rather send a barking dog's owner down the road (and lose the money) rather than aggravate all of our other guests.

We have been told numerous times by guests who do not travel with animals that they VERY much appreciate our proactive (and firm) pet policy. We have also been told by pet owners that our policy is a common sense approach to a delicate issue. We do not intend to change it.

If you have questions about our pet policy, please feel free to contact us.

Blue skies and tailwinds,
--
Jay Honeck
Owner/innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

we just got back from a wonderful 3 day trip from Port Aransas. I booked this place one night before I was getting there. It was very nice of the owner to let us book for just one night where as all the other hotels wanted a minimum 2 day stay. The place is spotlessly clean. There is lot of personal touch that has been put my Mary and her husband. I would prefer to stay here any day over a chain hotel. Excellent breakfast delivered to your door step. We loved it so much that we ended up staying for another day and also got a discounted price from Mary.

BTW I was visiting Port Aransas for my wedding. My girlfriend wanted to get married here. It was great. THUMBS UP for Amelias Landing.

My brother who was visiting from London loved who boutique this place was. Excellent location as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My family with two small children stayed here for a long weekend getaway. Each room is decorated in a particular airplane theme. Ours room was the Stearman room which had two queen beds, a mini-fridge, and a microwave. Our room was located directly across from the outdoor pool and hot tub.

Breakfast consists of your choice of muffins, croissants, juices, fruit cups, and coffee. You place your order when you check in and each morning of your stay breakfast is placed outside your door in a container by 7a.m. The breakfast was was delivered on time and was very tasty!

The room had two comfortable queen beds with a table with two chairs in the front of the room and another work desk with a chair. The toilet/shower room was small, but adequate. The sink and vanity were located in the main room. The room had a flat panel TV with a good choice of channels and a DVD player. The room was very quiet. I never heard any of the other guests even though the hotel was sold out on our second night.

The pool is a good size for families with smaller kids (not too big). The shallow end is 3.5 feet deep and it goes to 5 feet in the deep end. There is a deck with several lounge chairs and tables surrounding the pool along with a hot tub. There is also an outdoor grill next to the pool that can be used by the guests.

The hotel is located right on the main road through Port Aransas and is near many local restaurants and beach shops. There is a grocery store just down the street as well as a Whataburger. The hotel is about 2 minutes from the ferry landing and about 2 minutes from the beach. The free parking area at the I. B. Magee Beach Park is just down the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjhoneck, Owner at Amelia's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Hi All,

We really appreciate this wonderful review -- the guests who posted this were wonderful folks -- but just wanted to let everyone know that this room (and many other rooms, too) received new beds in late April, shortly after this guest departed.

This was part of our systematic upgrade program, and had nothing to do with this guest's experience. That room now sports two brand, new queen sized pillow topped beds!

Had we known that this guest was anything but ecstatic with the existing beds, we could have moved up the delivery date. Ironically, we were waiting for them to leave, so as not to disrupt their stay with furniture movers, etc.

We always strive for perfection. If you ever have an issue with anything during your stay, please let us know and we will do everything possible to address the issue.

Blue skies,
--
Jay Honeck
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a month and our main regret was that we could not stay longer. The room was very nice and clean and priced more than reasonably, especially since we got the Winter Texan rate, This place is very centrally located to everything and the beach is a short 5 blocks--grocery store 1 block, Talk about convenience, Jay and Mary were very attentive to our needs and Lorna, our room straighten-upper :>) gave us great tips also. You can catch a trolley right out the door and go most anyplace in the city limits or just take a short walk.
Our beds were a little saggy and old but in all fairness to Jay and Mary we did not mention this during our stay. We figured they are busy updating their new hotel and can only do so much at once. We absolutely love this place!!
Our favorite place to eat was Avery's Kitchen--all around great place for down home cooking.
We went to Robert's Point and saw the Dolphins everyday. We did not have our car with us and yet had no problem getting around from Amelia's Landing. Wife and I are checking our schedule for 2013, 'cause we definitely want to stay here for 2 months if possible.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amelia's Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia's Landing Hotel

Address: 105 N Alister Street, Mustang Island, Port Aransas, TX 78373 (Formerly Harbor Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amelia's Landing Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia's Landing is an aviation themed boutique hotel in the heart of Port Aransas, TX. The hotel was extensively remodeled and completely redecorated in 2013, with all new HDTVs, beds, unique historic artwork and memorabilia, a new pool, and new hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Amelia's Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia's Landing Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.