We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is by far the WORSE place I have ever been too!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Motel and condominiums

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Motel and condominiums
841 SANDCASTLE DRIVE @ BEACH, Port Aransas, TX   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Port Aransas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is by far the WORSE place I have ever been too!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I took our three children this past weekend to stay at the beach! This motel was the only one who had a room! So we stupidly took it! The front office smelled horrible! The entire staff looked like they had fallen out of a redneck tree! They were rude and none if them were all on the same page! We went to our room which they did not tell us was a motel room.. For the price we paid it should not have been a motel room and were horrified! It smelled horribly! The TV was 15 years old, and our toilet didn't flush properly. After the third flush, it over flowed everywhere! I went down to tell the night clerk.. Her solution.. She handed me a plunger and told me to clean it up! I was appauled! It was there problem and they wanted me to clean it up! This place should be shut down! Its poorly done on the inside and out! It was the wrist experience ever!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    11
    3
    13
See reviews for
39
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, TX
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This place is great if you want to walk out of your hotel room and step right out onto the beach. The decor and amenities won't impress, but the location can't be beat. You don't have to drive to get to the beach and the price is very cheap. Its very good for pets as well; they only charge $10 no matter the size or pet type.

Overall, would definitely recommend if you are on a budget or would like to be as close to the beach as possible.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Clean motel - nothing fancy at all.They do welcome pets for a $10 fee. You can literally walk out of the motel parking lot and you are steps away from the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Seaside motel is one of the easiest and cheapest motels ON the beach, they allow pets, which is a blessing to us, the best thing to do is make your plans with them ahead of time, they have done some fixing up and preventive maintenance for spring break, dont expect a continetal breakfast, but you do get a fridge and microwave in your room, if you want a condo, you get the kitchen, enjoy your stay, and if you stay there you can literally see the beach within less than a 1/4 of a mile, well worth the stay, and our dogs know that it is home when we go there. And if you want to sleep at might, take a box fan with you, it drowns out the outside noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We have requested and gotten condo #201 for the past two years and we are so lucky to have found the perfect vacation home. It's very clean (thank you, Sherri) has a nice big COOL bedroom with a wonderfully comfortable king sized bed, and all new appliances in the kitchen. Living room faces the gulf with a wall of windows that catch the sunrise every morning. Walk less than a block to the beach and about 30 minutes into town. It's just a great condo that I would recommend to the most particular people and the price is absolutely right. They allow us to take our guard cat, Melli, and she lays in the windows all day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

We rented the penthouse and a 2 bedroom for a girls getaway. The place was built late 60s-early 70s of cinder block to withstand hurricanes I'm sure. It's basic. None Of the hotel rooms are designated non-smoking but I think some of the condos are. I didn't notice smoke in penthouse or 303 and Im sensitive. The housekeepers are very friendly but the lady at the front-desk wasn't the friendliest, though she did answer our questions. Warning, the office is very smokey smelling-ugh! You can't get extra bath towels but they will give you extra pool towels. As for the condos, they have everything you need except for a blender. So bring your own if you make frozen drinks. Beds are comfortable enough, the rooms didn't smell musty, and we didn't see any bugs. We were on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator, so pack lightly if you rent the penthouse. It does have a big sundeck looking over the beach but bring some beach chairs as there are only 2 up there. The decor hasn't been redone in a while so it's a little out of date, but who cares if you're going to the beach. There was some small wall damage in a few areas that needed to be repaired, soI hope now that high season has ended that they might take care of that. Overall, fun stay, right on the beach, can listen to waves from the deck, all the necessities and still really close to town and restaurants. Great budget place!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My family and I have stayed at this motel for four (4) years now and still think it is the best (fall & winter rate) deal out there. Very comfortable mattresses!, clean rooms (even for being on the beach), pool, laundry facilities on-site (drying time is +/- one hour for each $1.00!), and just a walk down the drive to the beach.
We had read one comment about bed bugs, but we saw no evidence of them at check-in. Still we followed the sound advice to wash and/or dry everything in hot water/heat upon our return home.
Only negative comment: several of the women who work at the front desk didn't live on the island and therefore didn't know the best places to eat (Shells & Moby Dick, for two), or know about general island life (where to find the best seashells-San Juan island, hours for the shops, etc.). Some flyers were available in the office. A big display would be better.
Also, free wi-fi is available ONLY in the office area. With cable TV, the beach nearby, and the fact we don't take our computer on vacation (gasp!), it was not a big deal to us.

Room Tip: The room we reserve is called the Triple room which has 3 full-sized beds (oversized?) and a futon i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seaside Motel and condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Motel and condominiums

Address: 841 SANDCASTLE DRIVE @ BEACH, Port Aransas, TX
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Port Aransas
Also Known As:
Seaside Motel And Condominiums Hotel Port Aransas
Seaside Hotel Port Aransas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Motel and condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seaside Motel and condominiums to your Saves list