We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to feel like a local on a budget!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach Lodge
Save Saved
You added The Beach Lodge to your Saves list
2016 On The Beach Drive, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to feel like a local on a budget!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is by far one of the best places to stay if you are someone who would rather spend all of their time at the beach and just need a place to crash at night. I have stayed here several times, and each time it's almost like returning to see old friends. The staff and owner are very friendly and you can not beat the fact it's right on the beach. It's very laid back, and having coffee with the owner in the morning while the sun comes up at the attached bar/diner is one way to start the day. I recommend the breakfast burrito for breakfast, and the border burger for lunch. Drinks are always cold there and the banter is always fun and inviting. Of course, the fact you are ON THE BEACH is the best part. After a long day at the beach, take a quick dip in the pool there and relax on the rooftop deck with a cold drink. It's a great place to stay, if you just want a dive to crash at and hang out with the locals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
20
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My friend visiting from Wyoming had only one request, to put her [--] in the sand. I researched tripadvisor and chose the Beach Lodge. We LOVED it. Very laid back atmosphere. I parked my Jeep Rubicon right outside their deck on the beach. On our second day there, we ate 3 meals on the deck and it was great. This place has a real homey feel. Even if you choose not to stay here, you've got to visit the bar and order the Fully-Dressed Tecate...it rocks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just got back from staying at the Beach Lodge and I have to say I will be back. The room we had was very small, but we normally stay at the beach all day and really just needed a place to shower and sleep which this place served it's purpose. They do not have room service so if you run out of something (towels, toilet paper) you have to go to the office/bar to ask for it.

Good:
Clean Room
Location
Price
Bar/restaurant on property (burgers are great)
Pet friendly

Bad:
Parking lot (very rough and parking space was limited)
really tiny room
slow service at restaurant
No phone service (At and t)
Wifi really slow and hit and miss
TV (really small and no remote)

Now this is not a five star hotel, but if you want a clean cheaply priced place to stay that is really close to the beach then this place is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This is not the Hilton it is a small piece of heaven on earth. It is not 5 star dining but the best burgers in Texas. It is small, family friendly, and swim suit casual. If you think the people are rude then you did not get to know them. If you think the place is rundown then you did not see it before they worked hard remodeling. This is the only place I stay and the only place I eat while in Port A. But keep in mind this is an open air on the beach place with breath taking views. I have been visiting for 15 years and have never been disappointed but i love the quiet, private atmosphere and visiting with the family that I adopted. Chuck, Gaye, Travis, Deb hope to see yall in Sept maybe.....already missing everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We just got back from a trip to padre island and port aransas. I must say the Beach Lodge was just what we were looking for. We wanted a place on the beach with clean pool & clean room. It was exactly that. The room was a little small but for us it was perfect is had a clean bed, new shower, and air conditioning. The bar/restaurant was a plus it had good food for good prices. If you have a cooler as we did with sandwhich stuff, beverages and snacks it Free ice . So if you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay on the beach this is for you! I will most definitely be back to stay many more times. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is my new favorite place to stay because it is right on the beach, it is clean, it has wonderful open, covered decks to sit on, the water makes your skin feel soft, everyone we met was very nice and welcoming, it's affordable, it was very relaxing, and all of the other guests made it feel more like it was a big happy family~ very Margaritaville. I hesitate to share my new find but they really deserve the props. Travis, always make room for the girl who was born the day before you because we will most definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

This is our 2nd time here and we will be back! This is a great cheap clean place to stay! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Lodge

Address: 2016 On The Beach Drive, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Aransas
#4 Family Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Port Aransas
Beach Motel Port Aransas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.