We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Back Porch Bar

Back Porch Bar
132 W Cotter Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4030
361-749-2800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This bar has a wonderful atmosphere and probably can make you any drink you want. Great ambience watching the fishing boats come in. Lots of locals and tourists alike. Its outdoors so can be hot but definitely a place I would go back to. One of our favs in Port A. No food at bar but available next door.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cibolo, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bartenders aren't chick friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband & I arrived just as the band was ending at midnight, but decided to hang out because the marina view is great & it was a nice night. The crowd was starting to depart, but when we first arrived the bar was still pretty busy. I noticed all female bartenders so I told my husband he ought to order the drinks. Sure enough they got his drink order a few minutes later. We sat down for a while & by 12:40 we were ready for round 2 for drinks, considering there were only a few people left & the bar was dead so I went up to order. I stood at the bar for 8-10 minutes while 3-4 bartenders walked by me numerous times, avoiding eye contact. I even told one I needed a few drinks when she got a minute. I used to bartend so I know how it is, but there was no excuse for them ignoring me & their poor service, it wasn't busy, I was polite & not belligerent. The only thing I can think of is they don't like hot women patrons. Tr another bar.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Do you like the beach shack laid back atmosphere? I do! I was staying in a local ripoff motel (Shark's Reef Resort) where you actually had to pay extra for wifi and definitely didn't want to sit around in during your free time, and found the free wifi at this local bar, on the docks, right in front of where I'd gone on a Jet ski ride earlier that day. Catching the breezes from the gulf (which in August are necessary) I was able to kick back and check my email. The grill is fine as long as you know that it's very typical dockside fare - DON't get any of the cream/mayo based dips unless they're freshly made - I got a slight case of food poisoning from the avocado/spinach dip.
If you go in the evening - ask for Hutch, and then tell that nice old man that Cindy says hi.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun place to have drinks and listen to music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Relaxed indoor/outdoor atmosphere. Enjoyed having drinks and listening to good bands here.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing for beers with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great place to grab a beer and relax. No food here but can get snacks next door

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Porch Bar also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Back Porch Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Porch Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.