We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Encounters

Dolphin Encounters
Deep Sea Headquarters, 416 W. Cotter, Port Aransas, TX 7414
361 779 3188
Website
Improve this listing
Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth every penny.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The experience in the water with the dolphin was amazing.
The staff was friendly and very accommodating.
During our video session someone in our group had their 8-10 month baby with them in the water. The child was clearly not enjoying it as she screamed throughout the entire 20 minute session, so much that when we saw the video you couldn't hear anything but her blood-curdling screams.
They did not hesitate to offer us a re-visit and we joined the next group that went in.
Their private beach/lagoon is also amazing and they have a nice bbq restaurant, lots of hammocks to lounge around in, best part of our week in Nassau.
I noticed some commenting it was an expensive excursion but it is not expensive compared to the dolphin encounter at Atlantis, which is almost double the price and you spend much less time in the water with the dolphin.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leander
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Oh, we so enjoyed our trip on the Kahootz! The owners were very nice and very informative. Among other things, I never knew that dolphins sleep w/only 1/2 of their brain and one eye closed. We were fortunate to see several dolphins frolicking in the water. Great to see them in their natural habitat rather than Sea World. Such a fantastic tour! We'll be back! Thanks!!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrell, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I must say if you go to Port Aransas you must go on the Dolphin watch. It was so interesting to watch and learn about such a beautiful creature. Did you no dolphins Never sleep ? The captin was so nice and gave a good history lesson . There were only a few dolphins out in the afternoon but still worth every $. And everytime someone would see a dolphin the caption would stop the boat for pictures and to see them swimming around the boat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginttu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice but little pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I'm not sure what others charge but paying $24 seemed a little high for the dolphins we did see. They played around the boat, nothing too close, but the reviews and website made it seem like we would see dozens of dolphins. Could think of better things to do with an hour and 1/2 of my time near a beach!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a wonderful time on our trip this morning... we got to see a few dolphins (plenty enough to satisfy the kids) and enjoyed being out on the water. I definitely recommend this tour as something to do while in Port Aransas. The kids said, "Thanks for taking us on that boat trip... that was neat!" Enough said.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Encounters also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dolphin Encounters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Encounters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.