We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   727 South 11th Street, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Port Aransas
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Close to the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

On a recent family outing, we needed a couple of rooms in Port Aransas for only 1 week-end night, but condo's require a 2 night minimum, therefore, we booked 2 rooms at the Holiday Inn. The rooms were clean, comfy, and the A/C worked really well. The hotel was approximately 3 blocks from the beach, so it was easy to get to. The staff was very friendly and very responsive if needed. The breakfast bar was generic like most suite type hotels, but they had a lot to chose from and even found myself enjoying it. Like most beach hotels, I thought it was a bit over-priced, but you are paying for the location! The hotel is in a good location, making it easy to get to restaurants and the beach. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Adam P! I am glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the easy access to all of the wonderful things Port Aransas has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    68
    22
    12
    17
See reviews for
97
45
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay met with expectations. The hotel staff was helpful and courteous. The room and the bathroom were spacious and clean. The bathroom had a shower stall but no bath tub. There was a mini fridge and microwave in the room.The breakfast was fresh and plentiful. The pool could have been bigger but who care when there is an ocean just a short drive away. The only issue we had was that our room overlooked a lumbar yard. Thankfully there was no noise. After checking in and settling in the room, it was nice to get a welcome call from the reception asking if we needed anything and if everything was alright.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
new2tx11,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to be your hotel of choice for your next vacation to Port Aransas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Rooms have kid suites for keeping parents sane. Hot breakfast has lots of choices and you are right by the beach! In room fridge and micro are a bonus. Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff were friendly and available.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Camgray1!

I am pleased top hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Port Aransas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend a few days at the coast in Port Aransas. Our suite was fine with an additional room with our sofa, fridge and microwave. Had plenty of space, and a very comfortable stay at the HI Express. It is just a few blocks to the beach and we were able to leave our chairs, towels, etc... in the car and just get in to ride down. We were able to park very close to the water and really enjoyed a few days of sun and surf!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello nab800! Thank you so much for the kind review! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Port Aransas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

So we didnt want to pay $350/night for a condo, or $500/night for newer looking townhouse, so we opted for a good ole American chain Hotel. What could go wrong right? I called 4 days before hand to book a 1 bedroom suite and was quoted $149/night. Confirmed booking, thought we had a good price as published priced was $169/night on their website. when checking in, we were given just a room with two queen beds, not a suite. So hoofed it downstairs, they said "nope, you booked just a double queen room, but can give you a suite for $179/night. So that's $30 more than we had expected and $10 more that was published!!! WTH! No apology, just a Mexican standoff. Meanwhile some woman hollers out from an office, just give it to them... OK so, new room given to us. Plastic key card doesn't work. We were placed on the 2nd floor and low and behold we have heffalumps staying in the room above, and half a village in the room next store to us (I wondered if they got charged for having more that 6 adults and 8 kids staying in the one suite). Powdered eggs for bedfast. Noisy plumbing which kept us up until 1am due to heffalumps taking late night showers. So to keep our blood pressure down, we dont say anything,dont ask to be moved to another room. When we checked out we were charged $169/night not $149 as we thought. But at that point I was willing to pay extra just to get out.
OTW pool rules not enforced, crowed hottub with people smoking and drinking! (And no suprise, but no pool towels left out).

Room Tip: If you must stay insist on on a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear AvidTraveller1962,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We work hard to create memorable guest experiences but it is unfortunate that this visit was a dissatisfaction on many levels most especially with the condition of the room you were given and if the level of service received was not up to standards. I shall forward your comments to our team to consider for enhancements needed on site.

Again, we appreciate your review and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampasas, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a quick trip to the beach for us (myself and 2 teenage girls) at the end of summer. I chose this hotel because of my club membership and the location in spite of some of the negative reviews. First of all I knew that the service would not be up to Holiday Inn Express standards because their club members are to be greeted in a specific way and this was not done. The room was as I would have expected except the beds and bedding. The bedding was definitely worn and not up to the standards. And the bed was not standard for Holiday Inn Express. I have been a regular in these hotels for about the last 15 years. I found the people at the front desk to be less than friendly and helpful. Both printers were apparently out of ink in the business center when I need to print a document and the front desk person just said "sorry" when I asked him if he could print them on the hotel computer (5 pages of work documents). The breakfast was standard but the setup was not; therefore, there were long lines on a weekend. A simple re-arrangement with more cabinetry would solve the traffic flow problems. Everything was crowded together on a shorter than normal countertop. The addition of some portable units along the wall at the door would solve the crowding. I was less than impressed about the pool area. A couple were making out in the pool in front of several young children and my daughters and no one from the hotel was making walk-through's to assure safety and appropriate behavior. I will likely stay here again because of the location - about 3 blocks from the beach and a very easy walk and a very safe area with good parking but I hope the management brings the hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standards. For an example I would have them contact the Holiday Inn Express in Pittsburg Kansas where I stayed a couple of weeks ago - it was a 5/5. And FYI management - don't ever be proud to display a 4 rating from Trip Advisor. The 4 rating lets people know that you have some issues. Display the rating when you get a 5.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor where the rooms face out to the parking lot or to the pool. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Jeananne56132,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the service you have received which fell below your expectations and the bed conditions has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We paid $240 a night for a Queen beds suite with microwave and fridge. Room was pretty cool (temp) and normal for such a high traffic area. Bedspreads and sheets were updated, flat screen tv's in both rooms. Do not expect ocean views!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and would like to apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We will definitely look into making our breakfast area a better experience.
Sincerely, May Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area

Address: 727 South 11th Street, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas. Located on the Texas Gulf Coast, Port Aransas is a one stop destination for fishing, birding, beach combing and relaxation. Whether you are in town for business or pleasure our hotel is proud to be the preferred lodging for quality and service on the island.Our hotel is conveniently located 1.5 blocks from the beach and within walking distance to many of the best shops and restaurants. Our island is home to the Harvest Moon Regatta, UT Marine Science Institute, Newport Dunes Golf Club, Mustang Island State Park and three stops on the Great TX Birding Trail.Our hotel features swimming pool with swim up benches, waterfall, kiddie pool and hot tub for relaxing after those long walks on the beach. Our business-minded guests will appreciate our fully-stocked business center and free Internet access throughout our hotel. Guests also have access to our fitness center equipped with a treadmill, stationary bike and 3 station weight machine.Enjoy a new way to start your day with the complimentary Express Start hot breakfast bar. Cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy and crisp bacon have been added to our famous cinnamon rolls and other delicious breakfast items. On your next trip to Port Aransas, remember to Stay Smart and visit us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Holiday Inn Port Aransas
Port Aransas Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.