We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our second stay at this location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   727 South 11th Street, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Port Aransas
austin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our second stay at this location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Although not on the beach, this hotel is within four blocks and it is easy to walk or drive to a very nice area of the beach. There is no beach view from the hotel, however. The pool was being repaired and our room was smaller than one we had on a previous visit, but the breakfast was still very good. The lady who takes care of that area is so nice and she keeps everything well stocked, even if you arrive five minutes before the breakfast time ends. The room was clean, but I did not like the showerhead that could not be adjusted. All the employees were nice and helpful. Next time we will check the room out better before we move in, but we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to share your experience here with us. We appreciate all your feedback because this helps us see areas that need improvement. We hope to see you again.
Sincerely May Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    61
    20
    11
    15
See reviews for
89
42
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Third or fourth trip to this hotel. Once again we had a problem with check-in and one day with getting the room cleaned. This seems to be par for the course at this hotel. Being a Priority Club member and having stayed at Holiday Inns in several different countries I very seldom have troubles at HI hotels and usually find the staff to be very helpful. Enough on the bad stuff, on to the good!!
The hotel is not on the beach, but we find that to be a small and easily overcome problem. We load all our stuff in the back of the truck, drive 2 blocks to the beach, park and have a great time. When it is time to come back to the hotel it is only a short walk to the truck to load everything, If we were in a condo on the beach we would have to lug our stuff much further back to the room. The hotel is usually clean and well maintained. The breakfast is good and the lady that take care of it is great!! I'm not sure what her name is, but she really, really does a good job. Overall this hotel is good, but definitely not great!! The price is high, especially for this time of year, and the service does not back up the high cost. Since you have few choices, it is a good place to stay, but I really wish they would take it up a few notches and make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We appreciate all your feedback because this helps to show us where our weak points are so we can improve and become a great hotel that people love. We hope to see you in the future so that we have the chance to change your good stay into a great stay!
Sincerely, May Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niceville, fl
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I hate to say negative things about a place I only spent....umm....12 mins at. I must explain, I am the picky one and my husband is the one who decided we must leave the hotel. I am unsure if it was the smell, the location - he was told the hotel was on the beach and it is not; doesn't matter wanted to check out as soon as we looked out onto our parking lot view.

We were told we would not receive a refund because we walked into the room...live and learn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are very sorry that you was not happy with our hotel. Our number one goal is to provide excellent customer service as well as a problem free stay and we fell short to meet this with you.
Sincerely, May Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were first given a very small room for the price we paid, but after talking to the front desk we were given a great room. We loved our stay there. Breakfast was very good, everything was very clean.

Room Tip: Check the room size first. Some are too small for two people and all their luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future.
May Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It's been about 5 years since we've had a family vacation and I thought it would be great to visit Port Aransas for Spring Break 2013. We planned on getting some sun, shopping, and having fun. Of all my experiences in hotels, none have ever been worthy of a review, but this time around, I can honestly say that it was worth it and our stay was amazely AWESOME!! Our room had a microwave, mini-fridge, flat screen TV, table with two chairs, and the two queen size beds were very comfortable. The restroom was very nice, almost elegant if you ask me; just the setup itself was nicer from other hotels I've stayed at over the years. The A/C never gave us a problem and housekeeping was available when needed. Even when the dryer didn't dry our clothes after running it through two dryer cycles, the front desk offered to dry our clothes for us at no charge. There were no crying babies next door, no slamming doors at 2am, no kids running up and down the hallway, the hotel had building security that would escort non-guests off the premises (bracelets were given at check-in to identify guests, due to it being Spring Break), hotel had a great selection on their complimentary breakfast, and for the first time in years we were all able to have an enjoyable vacation. The hotel was about two and a half blocks from the beach (just a hop, skip, and jump if you ask me), there were shops/restaurants within walking distanace too, and we were still close enough to drive to Padre Island if we wanted. Port Aransas has changed so much and all for the better, we plan on doing this again!!
~Ronnie G. from SA

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor are best because you won't have people stomping around in the rooms ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to create a memorable stay which we were able to do for you. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely, May Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were there for a gathering of around 400 people - around Port A - not all at the hotel. This hotel was a known entity and at a reasonable price so we picked it.

Check-in went smooth and without any problems.

Breakfast was standard HIExp fare and the employee tending breakfast was gregarious, happy and loves living in Port A. There would not be breakfast problems on her watch.

I did think that most of the front desk folks did not smile enough. Only the manager really seemed to be happy behind the desk. Not sure what's up with that. But we did get all of the attention we needed.

The beach is just down the street and very easily accessible.

We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Gulf on the top (3rd) floor. There's not much of a view, but you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's always exciting to hear about good experiences from our guest involving our staff as well as service. We appreciate your response and hope to see you soon.
Sincerely, May Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel is a bit worn looking and it's not that old. The pool was clean, but the hot tub was green and smelly. The beach is only a few blocks away. We checked in a bit early on Monday and were accommodated even though the hotel was busy the day before. That was really nice and we appreciate Liz & her boss Mel taking care of us.
When we asked for recommendations for a place to eat, Liz not only gave super information about where to go, what to order and supplied maps and highlighted where to shop as well. We were set for our entire stay. She also came up and cleaned our room when housekeeping skipped us. An all around employee, she said she had only been there two weeks!
The morning staff was a bit stand-offish, we were surprised after how great the afternoon/evening people were Evette acted like we interrupted her, texting on her cell. We must praise Olivia! She said she just does laundry, but she was so friendly to my elderly mother.
We hope the quality of the linens will be upgraded, and the carpets maybe cleaned, the air conditioner was struggling even when it was only in the high 70's. Not 90's and up. Those should be checked and replaced before summer hits on the coast. That was the issue we wanted to discuss with Evette. We were told someone would look at ours. No one ever came to the room. We were told that with the humidity the a/c works harder, that makes sense, but still, no one checked it.
That really was the only problem we had and hope they do something about it for the comfort of the other guests. We were fine, used to being a room a little warmer than normal.
This hotel has a wonderful breakfast. Armando, I think is his name, was so polite and friendly. He was shy, but very nice and made an amazing breakfast. Bethany that was there for some mornings, was very talkative. Breakfast was a bit over cooked that day, but we found things to eat.
This may be too much information, but as a review, we as a family got together to tell our story.
It was my mother and father, my husband and I, my children and grandchildren. We had two suites, spent a lot of money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front part of the building not overlooking the pool are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us as well as pointing out areas that we need to focus on. Armando, olivia,mel and Liz will all be commended for their hard work. We depend on our guest reviews so it will let us know what we need to improve to become a great hotel. Hope to see you in a future stay.
Sincerely, May Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Holiday Inn Port Aransas
Port Aransas Holiday Inn
Address: 727 South 11th Street, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas. Located on the Texas Gulf Coast, Port Aransas is a one stop destination for fishing, birding, beach combing and relaxation. Whether you are in town for business or pleasure our hotel is proud to be the preferred lodging for quality and service on the island.Our hotel is conveniently located 1.5 blocks from the beach and within walking distance to many of the best shops and restaurants. Our island is home to the Harvest Moon Regatta, UT Marine Science Institute, Newport Dunes Golf Club, Mustang Island State Park and three stops on the Great TX Birding Trail.Our hotel features swimming pool with swim up benches, waterfall, kiddie pool and hot tub for relaxing after those long walks on the beach. Our business-minded guests will appreciate our fully-stocked business center and free Internet access throughout our hotel. Guests also have access to our fitness center equipped with a treadmill, stationary bike and 3 station weight machine.Enjoy a new way to start your day with the complimentary Express Start hot breakfast bar. Cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy and crisp bacon have been added to our famous cinnamon rolls and other delicious breakfast items. On your next trip to Port Aransas, remember to Stay Smart and visit us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.