We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fishing trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   727 South 11th Street, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Port Aransas
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Fishing trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great place to stay in Port A. The location is close to the beach,not too far from the charter fishing areas and it has a really pretty swimming pool area. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and it has a great breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent stay and as always our goal is to create a memorable experience that you can share with family and friends.
Thank You, May Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    66
    22
    12
    16
See reviews for
95
44
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Caney, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed 3 nights (Thur-Sat). Very clean and well maintained facilities. More than I would have expected from an HI Express. The bed was comfortable, no issues with any of the room amenities, everything was clean and in excellent condition. The wi-fi was a bit spotty at times and a bit slow but worked well most of the time. The pool was clean, did not swim but used the spa. There is an exercise room but it's small and sparsely furnished - no weight training machines only cardio. The beach is within walking distance but since you can drive on the beach it would be more convenient to drive the car in order to car your stuff if you plan to do anything other than just go for a walk. Ate the full breakfast (buffet) provided with the room only once, the other days we ate at restaurants in Port A. The HIEx breakfast was pretty decent for a buffet, nothing special. The staff was courteous, always with a greeting on arrival and well wishes on departure each time we entered or left the facility. Would not hesitate to recommend HI Express to others or to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and taking the time to do so. We are very happy that you enjoyed our facility. As always our goal is to create a most memorable experience that you can share with your friends and family. We hope to see you in a future stay.
Thank You, May Sanders General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I came down from CO for a relaxing beach vacation. All the excellent reviews held true. No need to reiterate. The pancake machine at the breakfast buffet was cool, like a machine from the Jetsons cartoon. The pool was great, and required strict keycard access. This was nice, because we have stayed at other hotels in South Padre where there were a lot of people and families "poaching" the facilities. Not here though. Port A is Nice quit town in September. The beach was well maintained by the city. Very comfortable room. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: I requested a top floor room for what its worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
May Sanders General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a very enjoyable trip. This was my 3d stay with them & we keep returning because they go out of their way to make sure everything is great. The rooms are nice & clean & all the personnel are friendly & helpful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
May Sanders General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

For years, we attempted to plan a "No Boys Allowed" trip to Port A. We couldn't find affordable accommodations with 6 separate beds in private homes/condos/etc. The Holiday Inn Express solved that problem with the queen 2-bedroom suites at very competitive prices in the off season ... plus a free delicious breakfast buffet. Several years ago we decided to make this our annual retreat and our visit this past weekend did not disappoint. High 5's to May, Ashley, Amanda and those cheerful ladies staffing the buffet area who managed to smile, hum and chat while keeping the food and drinks well stocked during even the busiest times. Beds are super comfortable, bath is spotlessly clean, really attractive landscaping and flowers in the beds. Beach is just a short walk ... we had FUN!

Room Tip: We've stayed on all floors and find all to be quiet. This hotel is very well managed and nicely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience with us. We appreciate the positive response and will make sure the employees are commended. As always our #1 goal is to make our guest happy and to provide them with the most excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our third stay at this hotel. Consistantly great service and clean rooms. The free breakfast buffet is very good with something for the whole group to enjoy. Close to the beach and main street. Would recommend it to anyone going to Port Aransas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely, May Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had the 2-room queen suites which are just perfect for our group of ladies who have been friends over 50 years dating back to elementary school. The complimentary breakfast is one of the best but what really makes it such fun is the happy, smiling face of the lady who keeps all of the food and drink items well stocked. Thanks to Amanda and Ashley at the front reception desk ... we felt like we had made new friends by the time we left. May, the GM, adds that personal touch and deserves at A+ in maintaining such a high level of satisfaction year after year. See you in 2013!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandersbay, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely, May Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area

Address: 727 South 11th Street, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas. Located on the Texas Gulf Coast, Port Aransas is a one stop destination for fishing, birding, beach combing and relaxation. Whether you are in town for business or pleasure our hotel is proud to be the preferred lodging for quality and service on the island.Our hotel is conveniently located 1.5 blocks from the beach and within walking distance to many of the best shops and restaurants. Our island is home to the Harvest Moon Regatta, UT Marine Science Institute, Newport Dunes Golf Club, Mustang Island State Park and three stops on the Great TX Birding Trail.Our hotel features swimming pool with swim up benches, waterfall, kiddie pool and hot tub for relaxing after those long walks on the beach. Our business-minded guests will appreciate our fully-stocked business center and free Internet access throughout our hotel. Guests also have access to our fitness center equipped with a treadmill, stationary bike and 3 station weight machine.Enjoy a new way to start your day with the complimentary Express Start hot breakfast bar. Cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy and crisp bacon have been added to our famous cinnamon rolls and other delicious breakfast items. On your next trip to Port Aransas, remember to Stay Smart and visit us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Holiday Inn Port Aransas
Port Aransas Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.