We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar with good people watching + live music out back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gaff

The Gaff
323 Beach Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5310
361-749-5970
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 72 restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bar with good people watching + live music out back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The pizza is good. The sand belt races are hilarious. I'm not a bar person so this is a good place for me because you can walk right thru to the back and sit outside on and listen to a band in their backyard. They have to stop playing about 10:00 since it's outside. Good place for people watching since it's a local hang out. Definately a must do if you are going out in Port A.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    30
    18
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bar with Great Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a quirky beach bar that just happens to serve great pizza. I went early in the evening for pick up but I bet it is a great late night bar!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland Springs ,Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sanbelt races”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This place is old and has no a/c but,walk out back and there is a beautiful backyard where they often have bands and , or those crazy sandbelt races. The pizza is good and hot and the beer is cold what more do you want. A great place to spend a weekend afternoon.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go only on Saturday for the Sand Belt races!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Great place for something different. Go on Saturday around 3:30-4:00 for some fun. Go to the outside (out back). Walk through the bar to the back/outside. Yes you can bring your kids to watch. It is fun for everyone and it is free to watch. You can order drinks and pizza while waiting for the races to begin. Get there early for a good seat or at least a seat in the shade. Very unusual.....totally Texas! Great to do at the beach for something different. You can also park in the back so you do not have to walk through the bar. They have an outside bar for ordering drinks too. Enjoy the races!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Off the wall but good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I went in to check it out because a local had told me the pizza was good and the two drunks at the bar and the not so nice bar tender kind of scared me off with a family. We got hungry after a fishing trip so i decided to go and get a pizza to go and I am glad i did. This time the guy behind the bar was really nice, we was a professional runner and he made an awesome pizza and was just an all around cool guy. Its mostly a local dive and not really a place for kids but the pizza is good and the breeze is nice.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gaff also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Gaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.