We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish and chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Cafe and Smokehouse

Island Cafe and Smokehouse
224 Cotter, Port Aransas, TX 78373
361.749.6602
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 72 restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We got fish and chips to go and took them to the beach. The fish was plentiful in a light crumb coating and not at all greasy. Nice fries and served with lime slices and tartar sauce. A nice little lunch and we would return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    23
    37
    17
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Got a tip from a local to try this place for breakfast. So glad we did! The service was great. Made us feel at home and welcome. The food came out fast and fresh. Prices are fair too. Definitely coming back to this place on our next trip. Highly recommend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best place in Port A to eat breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The marquee outside the Island Café read “Best place to eat breakfast” so we decided to try it. My husband and parents had Huevos Rancheros and I had Biscuits and Gravy with a side of grits. The biscuits and gravy were the best I’ve ever had! I can’t attest to the taste of the Huevos Rancheros, but I can say that all three of their plates were wiped clean…just like mine!
The hostess and wait staff were very pleasant and our server was great. The Island Café is a must if you are looking for a good breakfast (and prices) in Port A!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Caney, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, prompt service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The waitress didn't have a personality but she was prompt. The food was good quality, crab omelette was a bit overcooked but not excessively.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Shrimp omelette was awesome ! Coffee was good and fresh. Best hash browns I've eaten in a long time. I mean face it, it's kinda hard to screw up breakfast and these folks sure didn't. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Cafe and Smokehouse also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast

Been to Island Cafe and Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Cafe and Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.