We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargin food, informal atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan

San Juan
410 Cut Off Rd, Port Aransas, TX 78373
361-749-6521
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Graham, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bargin food, informal atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Initially we were somewhat dissapointed in this resturante as it was less formal than a typical mexican restaurant. it was lounder and seating was mostly chairs and tables not booths. but after we ate we realized the food was good, and the price was amazing. After eating at a few other spots on the island we realized this was one of the best bargins with quality of food for the price. If you are lookign for a fancy sitdown this is not it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    62
    26
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great service, great value, ok food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stopped here without knowing anything about it- the front of the neat looking building says "San Juan Restaurant"- we were craving some Mexican, so it sounded like our place! The specials were $5 fajitas and $3 ritas. The drinks were great, the fajitas were pretty good (not wonderful, but ok) - beef, chicken or shrimp. FYI: my daughter wasn't crazy about her carne asada burrito. The staff was attentive, and friendly and the service was great. We were a bit early for dinner, so there were only a few cars in the lots when we arrived, but when were were leaving, it was filling up fast.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Port Aransas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great food and lots of it. Noisy due to the popularity of the establishment. Better than average Mexican Food. Lots of selections and each dish is well-prepared and better than the pictures in the menu. Always have some food left to take home, even if it is the fresh hot tortillas. All the staff and owner are very friendly and do everything they can to make your visit great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvarado, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“GREAT FAMILY OWNED AND RUN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

IN A RESORT TOWN to find a resturant thats economical and good is rare. San juans is it. Juan is about as friendly as a person can be. His family helps him staff this homey little resturant that is a local favorite. I eat mexican food all over the US and this is one of my favorites. The atmosphere is great and the food isnt bad either. Enjoy yourself and save a little coin.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food and great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Breakfast is wonderful! Lunch is great too! We ate there 4 times in 4 days. It can't be beat!! Sometimes it's full but they move people through pretty fast. They always have a breakfast special!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;