We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & service, needs some updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Quarters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Captain's Quarters Inn to your Saves list
Captain's Quarters Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   235 W. Cotter Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location & service, needs some updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I visit Port Aransas often, and have stayed at the Captain's Quarters a few times because its pretty convenient if you want to go fishing at the docks across the street. Also heard about it from a colleague who seems to stay here. The hotel must be under new management, because I didn't recognize the GM from my last visit (and because he told me so). I noticed they've been slowly upgrading the hotel, and some of the new rooms are now quite nice - I got upgraded to a Captains Preferred room, which I liked.
The hotel had complimentary water bottles in the rooms - haven't seen that before? I hate how you usually have to pay five bucks for those.
They also had a pretty neat movie night at the pool, with a projector - they played Hunger Games the day the DVD came out, that was really fun. Andy, the GM, even let us borrow a hookah? which I have never used before, but it was an awesome experience.
The room I stayed in was comfortable, clean and updated, but the phone didn't work, which was annoying. I liked that they had fresh coffee served in the breakfast room before 6 am, when we set out on the boat.
They have some ways to go in updating the hotel, but I like where its headed, and will visit again in early October, hopefully the improvements continue.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have tile or wood floors - worth asking for those at check-in if you're walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bridgeport, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I don't know where these ppl r use to staying that gave this place a good review, me and my family wanted something right on the ocean but not at the expense of staying in filth! You walk into a 80's themed room smelling of mildew and the beds are clearly from the 80's they actually bowed in the middle and stains on the sheets! In the bath tub there was soap scum and pubic hair. We walked into the room which was a suite but I guess because it had a little fridge with a microwave on top made it a suite, needless to say we turned around with in 10 min and walked out did we get a refund no! It's a complete dump and u would be better off pitching a tent on the beach.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, that simple, I have the pics to prove it was a dump and filthy!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Aransas hotels

Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed at Captain's Quarter, last week with my 2 kids and my wife, I have to said they are one the best manager that he cared about the costumer, because we did not have some towels in are rooms but the manager came personally in our room to give us a towel and ask if everything else was ok, and also we good upgraded to Captain Preferred room when we check inn. Later on at night we need a taxi to go the bar, but the manager offer us a free ride to the bar. Very clean and enjoyed able in are vacation. Thanks for everything Mr. Andy.

Room Tip: Captain Preferred is awesome room is one the upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devine, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I enjoy staying at CQ. It is clean, comfortable, easily accessable, easy to find and close to the deep sea fishing docks. It is where I will be staying when I go back to Port A.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ross h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncanville, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a dump, unless you get one of the 8 upgraded rooms. The room I had was in a state of disgust, dirty, unclean, broken security locks, no coffee pot and heavily stained mattress. For the money that was paid, a 15 minute drive would of been well worth it . Altough it is close to one end of the pier, shopping around for other hotels would be a way better bargan. I have the pictures to prove it.

Room Tip: Ask for a "upgraded room", if you have to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arthur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Room had bugs I had bites all over my legs. Over priced. Management does not handle complaints. General Manager promised a refund never did and then I was charged again on when I was not even there. When you ask who is the owner staff refuses to provide ownership information. I would not recommend this disaster to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sstoll1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_PortAransas, General Manager at Captain's Quarters Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We are very sorry the guest was not satisfied with their experience. We wish the guest had spoken to the GM before spending the night at the hotel if they were dissatisfied, we would have been happy to resolve their issues to the Guests's satisfaction immediately. That being said, we take the cleanliness of the hotel very seriously and have not received any guest complaints regarding bugs or anything similar.

We attempted to contact the guest after this review, and left him a message, but have not heard back from them. We hope we do, because we want them to come back and give us another opportunity to help them enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have stayed at the Captain's Quarters twice. At their standard rate of $90, it might be a bit overpriced. it's old but clean. An OK breakfast and a first class ice machine. Important for us is that it is dog friendly. It is located in the old part of town very close to the ferry.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinney1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_PortAransas, General Manager at Captain's Quarters Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your stay, and your feedback! Since your stay, we have upgraded all the downstairs rooms with wood floors, and have brand new furniture in all the Captain's Preferred rooms. We are working hard to keep improving the hotel, and would love for you come back to our upgraded rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.9 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#2 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
1.4 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#13 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas
Days Inn Port Aransas
#8 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Inn

Address: 235 W. Cotter Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain's Quarters Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located hotel in Port Aransas, TX - across the street from the docks, surrounded by restaurants, bars and shopping! Our Amenities: Walk to the Docks, Beach, Restaurants, Ferry, Bars and Shops, Freezer for Your Catch, Grilling and Eating Area Smoking/ Non Smoking Rooms, Boat Parking, Pool & Gazebo, TV/ Game Night, FREE Continental Breakfast, Pet Friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Captain's Quarters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Quarters Hotel Port Aransas
Captains Quarters Hotel
Captains Quarters Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing