We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Quarters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Captain's Quarters Inn to your Saves list
Captain's Quarters Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   235 W. Cotter Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Devine, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I enjoy staying at CQ. It is clean, comfortable, easily accessable, easy to find and close to the deep sea fishing docks. It is where I will be staying when I go back to Port A.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    18
    7
    10
See reviews for
21
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Duncanville, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a dump, unless you get one of the 8 upgraded rooms. The room I had was in a state of disgust, dirty, unclean, broken security locks, no coffee pot and heavily stained mattress. For the money that was paid, a 15 minute drive would of been well worth it . Altough it is close to one end of the pier, shopping around for other hotels would be a way better bargan. I have the pictures to prove it.

Room Tip: Ask for a "upgraded room", if you have to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Room had bugs I had bites all over my legs. Over priced. Management does not handle complaints. General Manager promised a refund never did and then I was charged again on when I was not even there. When you ask who is the owner staff refuses to provide ownership information. I would not recommend this disaster to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_PortAransas, General Manager at Captain's Quarters Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We are very sorry the guest was not satisfied with their experience. We wish the guest had spoken to the GM before spending the night at the hotel if they were dissatisfied, we would have been happy to resolve their issues to the Guests's satisfaction immediately. That being said, we take the cleanliness of the hotel very seriously and have not received any guest complaints regarding bugs or anything similar.

We attempted to contact the guest after this review, and left him a message, but have not heard back from them. We hope we do, because we want them to come back and give us another opportunity to help them enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have stayed at the Captain's Quarters twice. At their standard rate of $90, it might be a bit overpriced. it's old but clean. An OK breakfast and a first class ice machine. Important for us is that it is dog friendly. It is located in the old part of town very close to the ferry.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_PortAransas, General Manager at Captain's Quarters Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your stay, and your feedback! Since your stay, we have upgraded all the downstairs rooms with wood floors, and have brand new furniture in all the Captain's Preferred rooms. We are working hard to keep improving the hotel, and would love for you come back to our upgraded rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trenton,ne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel was in a great location but it sure needs some TLC.Not the cleanest or nicest but for the price what can you expect. Just needs a good deep cleaning and a new shower curtain for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_PortAransas, General Manager at Captain's Quarters Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We recently renovated our hotel - all our downstairs rooms now have wood floors, and the Captain's Preferred rooms have tiled floors and new furniture. The hotel is under new management and has been cleaned and improved. We would love for you to come back and see all the new changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

we stayed for new years. with our dog it was 132 total for two nights. the hotel is fine. it is not a high end place so if you want to nit-pick you could. but for the price it works. major complaint was the other tenants. it was new years weekend and drunk people plus thier pets barking, you have to sleep with the exhaust fan, tv on, and the air to drownd out all the noise. if you stand a chance you must stay on the upper floor. this is hardly the hotels fault.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argonia, Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I read many, many reviews on a number of Port Aransas hotels and was really scared off about staying anywhere. However, Dolphin Express suggested Captain's Quarters and it was a great experience. We started in the middle of the week on the off-season (which spoiled us because we pretty much had the run of the hotel) and stayed through a weekend. There was only one noise problem in the wee hours on Sunday --- but it happened to be some old-enough-to-know better men for about 30-45 minutes. The cleaning staff was great and the texas shaped waffles were our favorite for breakfast. We stayed in an upgraded room and it was lovely. Nice decision about the tiled floors because Port Aransas sand gets everywhere!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.9 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa
BEST WESTERN Ocean Villa
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#7 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.4 mi away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#13 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Inn

Address: 235 W. Cotter Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain's Quarters Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best located hotel in Port Aransas, TX - across the street from the docks, surrounded by restaurants, bars and shopping! Our Amenities: Walk to the Docks, Beach, Restaurants, Ferry, Bars and Shops, Freezer for Your Catch, Grilling and Eating Area Smoking/ Non Smoking Rooms, Boat Parking, Pool & Gazebo, TV/ Game Night, FREE Continental Breakfast, Pet Friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Captain's Quarters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Quarters Hotel Port Aransas
Captains Quarters Hotel
Captains Quarters Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Quarters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.