We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best food and view in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelican Club

The Pelican Club
914 Tarpon, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5034
361-749-4888-
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still the best food and view in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Try to get there in time to get an outside table to watch the sunset. The food is expensive, but superb.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    8
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Port A!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The wine list was extensive, the service was excellent and the food was impeccable. Everything about this place was above 5 stars Jaime our server was the best. I could go on and on - Go try it for yourself. You wont be sorry!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin. Houston, San Antonio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It makes me sad, sad, sad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

After eating at the Pelican Club/Beulah's for many years it pains me to say something is seriously wrong. We waited for the Fourth of July crowd to thin out and went in on Sunday night. Our waitress informed us they had been out of Tuna since Friday (which begs the question-just how fresh is the food, don't they get deliveries every day?). Then there was the wine, which was fine except it was HOT. Red wine should be served 65-70 degrees, not 85. It was just ruined what should have been a great bottle of wine.. Since they were out of tuna, we ordered scallops which were cooked well, but the asparagus was crunchy and stringy and the rice was just weird. It was in curried and tasted horribly wrong with the delicate peppery sauce on the scallops. We could not get out of there fast enough. Its really sad because we used to love this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not much bang for the buck!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our waitress was spot on. She had an answer for every questions and was very helpful with recommendations.
The atmosphere is somewhat dark and one gets the feeling that this restaurant has yet to decide what it's identity is to be.
The food was simply OK but certainly not up to standard for the price. There is nothing more annoying than watching you meal sit in the server window for 15 minutes prior to being served.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“New management needed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We went into a over priced place dead of winter very little people were sitting and eating. No one would greet us so we left. It is now dead of summer very packed island only restaurant in town that advertises no wait on sign outside. Red flag they still need an overhaul. Every other place in town there is a wait because it is good food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pelican Club also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Pelican Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pelican Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.