We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go in and eat well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marcel's Restaurant

Marcel's Restaurant
905 Hwy 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4404
+1 361-749-5577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 75 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Marcel's Restaurant is located at 905 Hwy 361 (S. Alister Street becomes Hwy 361 as you head south of the main part of town). We are located almost directly across the street from the Seafood & Spaghetti Works building.
Katy, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Go in and eat well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This place is one of several in PortA with gormet food cooked by tempermental chefs that moved here to run restarants by there own rules and the food is amazing. Soups are my favorite. They often run out of popular items and it isn't open every day or very late, but it is sooo worth it. Don't be put off by the appearance from the outside. Go in and eat well.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    33
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Prepared perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We had jalapeños stuffed with crab....crunchy crust, spicy with a lot of crab. Veal shoulder and veal scallopini, we both enjoyed our veal and would order them again...excellent. The fresh vegetables, side salad and spaetzle is a cut above other restaurants. We will be returning soon. Thanks for the good service too.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I usually order one of the blackboard specials. They are excellent. The soup specials are a much try item. Made from fresh vegetables & other delectable ingredients. The bread is very tasty. My sister has seafood allergies & this is her favorite restaurant in Port A. Great seafood but also really good steak & German dishes. The service is good. The wine is good. Marcel's is always on our dining list when in Port A.

CJH

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real nice dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our dinner at Marcel's. Food was good to very good (bread was excellent and the steak was perfect) and the service was excellent considering the place was full and the waitress was covering many tables. She was really pleasant in spite of how busy she was. A family owned and operated restaurant that may not suit everyone, but if you want a quality dining experience, they do a nice job. Marcel's has a high rating among P.A. restaurants and after eating there, I agree.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fine evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Fine menu selection with wide price options, great German draft beer, good wine selection, tasty bread before meal with appetizers and attentive service. Daily special was both good value and tasty (braised lamb shank). A number of typical German specialties on menu in addition to your usual American dishes. My wife (who was born and partially raised in Germany) found the pan-fried pork schnitzel tasty. We will be back before we leave town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcel's Restaurant also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marcel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marcel's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.