We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Specials” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marcel's Restaurant

Marcel's Restaurant
905 Hwy 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4404
+1 361-749-5577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Marcel's Restaurant is located at 905 Hwy 361 (S. Alister Street becomes Hwy 361 as you head south of the main part of town). We are located almost directly across the street from the Seafood & Spaghetti Works building.
Cedar Park, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were walk-ins, around 6pm on July 4th. We had no problem getting a table. Service was quite friendly. We had the two seafood specials-- my wife had the Scallops and I had the Red Snapper. It was probably the best seafood we had on our trip and the bar was very high. The toddler loved the shrimp bisque soup of the day, he eat most of ours.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    32
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Restaurant on the Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Marcel's is a cozy and inviting restaurant in Port Aransas. My husband and I were promptly greeted and seated when we arrived for our 8:15 reservation. Locals had recommended this establishment to us during our last stay in Port A, so we tried it this time around. I ordered the amberjack and grilled shrimp (a blackboard special), and my husband had the veal wienerschnitzel. Each entree came with a choice of soup or salad. We both tried the salad with house vinaigrette. The buttercress lettuce salad plates that arrived were chilled, presented artfully, and came with some delicious marinated carrots and cucumbers on it. Enjoyable and refreshing as a starter. Homemade bread was also served before the meal (a nice touch). Entrees were good, generous, and cooked just right, although I thought the steamed rice that accompanied the fish was a tad bland, but my husband really enjoyed the potatoes that were paired with the meat. A fresh vegetable medley was also was served with each dish (tasty). Also, my mouth watered when I saw another table devour the fried shrimp with panko bread crumbs. Marcel's prepared two on a plate for me to try (yum - will definitely get on another visit). Gianni (sp.?) was an attentive server. Meal was leisurely. We will return when on the island and save room for dessert.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surprise find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have driven by this restaurant many times, it doesn't look terribly impressive from the outside and his tucked away off the street. But I decided to stop by based on trip advisor reviews and I am glad I did! The menu selection is a bit random, but fine with me because it gives you many choices and the quality of food was great! Some items are reasonably priced while others are a bit overpriced, but we were more than satisfied! The service is exceptional!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We rolled up to Marcel's at 5.30pm on friday. We actually thought they may have been closed since there parking lot was empty. We cruised inside and was greated by our waiter Alan. He showed us to a nice table in the upstairs dining area. Tables were set with linen and was pretty classy ambiance. A little old school, but very different from other places we have been in Port A so far. We were the only patrons in the place and it remained that way for awhile. Not to worry, Alan was very helpful with suggestions on the menu and drink selections.

Marcel's has a German influence, with many German wines/beers and dishes on the menu. The owner Marcel, came by and we visited with him quite a bit. Very affable gentleman. We pursued the menu and decided to order the specials of Amberjack with chipolte aioli sauce, Israeli Couscous and steamed veggies, the Suziemeister opted for the other special Red Snapper, battered in potato chips, with new potato and spinach. These entrees came with a salad. We also ordered appetizers of crab cakes and Salmon.

Crab cakes were fine and came with two big dollops of tartar on top. I would of preferred it on the side, but it was easily scrapped off no worries. They were ok, nothing spectacular. The salmon was great. The whipped cream horseradish side was afab. It was a great serving for two to share. I also liked the little slivers of red onion and capers. Nice start. This was followed by traditional salads with shredded carrots, not my fave but very European, iceberg lettece, tomato and shredded cabbage. They were refreshing.

Entrees arrived and again I found my Amberjack served with big dollops of sauce on top of two pieces, again not a real issue since I just scrapped it to the side. This is just a personal choice, others may like a lot of sauce. It was cooked perfectly as was the veg, but the couscous was a little starchy, not little pearls and may have been overcooked a tad. Suzies Snapper was very good indeed. A big portion and she enjoyed the sauce, however the fish would of been great on it's own. Sauteed Spinach was wilted just right with garlic and the German potatoes were fantastic.

A couple of items to note. Ask for Alan as your server if possible. He was polite, engaging and generally had a great vibe to him. Marcel is a character and loves to talk about his country and recipes he has developed. You will find the decor a little dated, but it works. It's a non-smoking establishment and only serves beer and wine

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So European and cozy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have been here several times. Foods is fresh and the presentation is nice. You can tell the owner is a professional in all phases of preparation and combinations. The help needs a little help, but it's a small town so what can you expect. We always like to go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcel's Restaurant also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marcel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marcel's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.