We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trout Street Bar & Grill

Trout Street Bar & Grill
104 W Cotter Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4030
361-749-7800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Save your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Nice location and the restaurant is attractive with a lovely porch overlooking the marina. Our server was scattered brained, did not know the menu and brought my husband the wrong drink. The fresh catch black drum- grilled, was very good, (the only good part of our meal), presented on a plate that was sloppily done with rice pilaf and sautéed veggies. We had to ask twice for bread, that was served with dinner and seemed stale. My impression was our the place needs a front of the house manager and major training for the staff. The place would be gold mine with better service, quality food and consistency!

.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    69
    58
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the expense”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This restaurant has a beautiful location, backing up to the harbor, and was particularly beautiful after dark with all the harbor boats lit up. Our service was really outstanding, our waiter was attentive, thoughtful, and really patient with our large group. The appetizers we got were pretty good, especially the harbor fries. I can't recommend the restaurant because the food is just ok and very expensive. Between all of us we tried several dishes on the menu and the verdict was the same on all of them. The fried fish was bland and I got two small chunks with three fried shrimp for 22 dollars. Friends who had the shrimp skewers got a total of four shrimp with limp skewered veggies for around the same price. Overall just a really lackluster, boring dinner with a large price tag attached, so couldn't be impressed. Also, they told us they don't accept reservations, so we had no choice but to go and wait.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Inconsistent.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went to Trout Street for lunch one day and dinner the next. Lunch was great - shrimp tacos were outstanding. Dinner was another story - we ordered the grilled Amberjack and had to send it back because it was way overcooked. The second round was better, but still too dry. One of our party had the blackened Amberjack over gumbo, and said it was delicious. Atmosphere is nice, and a bit more upscale than most of the other Port A restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Try the gumbo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We ate outside on a deck looking onto the boat docks. Not really a great ocean view, but the boats are big and pretty. No birds flying around trying to eat our food. I had the gumbo which is made in house at trout Street Bar and Grill, I do recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, ok service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Luckily there was no wait for our party of 2 to sit on the porch. Our waitor was extremely polite but the service was extremely slow. The food was good, but a bit pricey, especially for how slow the service was.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trout Street Bar & Grill also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Trout Street Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trout Street Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.