We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy even in the winter moths” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Mexican Grille

La Playa Mexican Grille
222 Beach Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5312
361-749-0022
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #13 of 70 restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Busy even in the winter moths”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

La Playa - nice servers and friendly bartender. Katelyn was especially personable and made table side guacamole. La Playa has the recipe mastered. Chips and salsa were tasty too. I ordered the shrimp enchiladas, and my husband had the spinach enchiladas - a dish he does not usually order. He loved them, and I enjoyed my dish equally as well. Talked to a lot of locals when dining there - a good sign in the winter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    62
    58
    21
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cookndad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Still my Port A favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Another trip to La Playa, another home run. Friendly servers, great food, reasonable prices. My wife got the Shrimp diablos....fresh, sweet, excellent. I ordered the "special"....grouper with a crab topping. It was light, perfectly cooked, fresh....fantastic! I love this place and the wait
-staff who work there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not your typical mexican restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

First night in Port A we went to La Playa. Started with a couple of appetizers. Table side guacamole was fabulous. Ceviche platter was unique. Chips and salsa were very good. We ordered the tuna special and it was wonderful, flavorful and large portion. Others at table got the shrimp enchiladas (as suggested by another reviewer) and they lived up to the review. Absolutely yummy! Afterwards, as suggested, we ordered a flan. Too full to eat much, we split it but it was the BEST I've ever had! Our waitress was extremely helpful and accomodating! Sorry I do not remember her name. Will return next trip to Port A!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We enjoyed it. Will be going back for sure. The price was good the service was great! Great location also! Walked around to other shops afterward!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mexican Seafood Specialties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Small but excellent beach-community fare, with Mexican seafood speialties. Food is fresh and well prepared. The ceviches are delicious; a sampler is available to try the different varieties. The Del Mar platter is a favorite of mine! And don't forget to order a margarita!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playa Mexican Grille also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Playa Mexican Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Mexican Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.