We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical mexican restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Mexican Grille

La Playa Mexican Grille
222 Beach Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5312
361-749-0022
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not your typical mexican restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

First night in Port A we went to La Playa. Started with a couple of appetizers. Table side guacamole was fabulous. Ceviche platter was unique. Chips and salsa were very good. We ordered the tuna special and it was wonderful, flavorful and large portion. Others at table got the shrimp enchiladas (as suggested by another reviewer) and they lived up to the review. Absolutely yummy! Afterwards, as suggested, we ordered a flan. Too full to eat much, we split it but it was the BEST I've ever had! Our waitress was extremely helpful and accomodating! Sorry I do not remember her name. Will return next trip to Port A!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    75
    24
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We enjoyed it. Will be going back for sure. The price was good the service was great! Great location also! Walked around to other shops afterward!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mexican Seafood Specialties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Small but excellent beach-community fare, with Mexican seafood speialties. Food is fresh and well prepared. The ceviches are delicious; a sampler is available to try the different varieties. The Del Mar platter is a favorite of mine! And don't forget to order a margarita!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After 2 years of living on the Island, I finally have arrived to La Playa one evening (a rather busy one in Port A), for dining and libations at La Playa. The bartender didn't know we've never experienced La Playa however!

Perhaps he needs to pay close attention to the few people sitting at the bar one a time?!

"We'd like a rocks margarita, like that one (pointing to the one he had just made)," my boyfriend said. He said we'll what kind of tequila??? and pointed to the rows and rows of choices behind him on the wall... Meaning we were suppose to know (without a bar menu) that they serve LOTS of different kinds of tequila and that they have 'ritas ranging from $85 dollars to $8.50 dollars...

Nonetheless, we received drinks and made up with a hand-shook, ate a fab dinner and took a what was going to be a rather distasteful taste in our mouths out to the public, friends and family, to "we'll be back, soon!" attitude!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Specials ARE special!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We eat here several times a year and really enjoy the food, especially the fish specials. There are usually at least two available so we each order a different one and share. We have never been dissapointed! Also don't pass up the flan for dessert.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playa Mexican Grille also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Playa Mexican Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Mexican Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.