We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch food & service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venetian Hot Plate

Venetian Hot Plate
232 Beach St, Port Aransas, TX 78373
361-749-7617
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Top notch food & service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Must make reservations! The food and service at VHP were both top notch. We enjoyed the toasted crostini with fresh crab (yum) appetizer. My husband had a Grouper special in a tomato, white wine sauce, w/ a delicious risotto (real saffron threads) and broccolini. I had a Snapper special w/ artichokes in a picatta sauce, mashed potatoes and broccolini. The sauces on both of these dishes were awesome...both included a house salad. The service was excellent and efficient and the best value for a top notch meal in Port A, so far. Many local diners and it is obvious the kitchen knows what they are doing. Definately a "must return" kind of place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    37
    11
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Good Italian food.I had reg spegetti,wife had seafood pasta dish(scallops,shrimp,crab)very good also

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvarado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is no Olive Garden. The staff is some of the best around. Extremely knowledgeable . The food is outstanding. The polenta is fabulous. amazing wine list. I had the linguine and my husband had a steak. It was heavenly. You have not experienced Italian cooking until you come here. It's busy so make a reservation. We actually had all the desserts, you can't go wrong.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We went with three couples and ill admit that I was skeptical of a "nice" restaurant in a beach town. Honestly I couldn't have been more pleased. First, our table was held with our reservation and promptly ready when we arrived. Our waiter was attentive, kind, and patient. His wine recommendation and comments n the menu were both informed and on spot. I had a conch appetizer which was tasty. 5 out 6 adults at the table ate fish. I think we had 3 different fish entrees between us and everyone was delighted. Dessert was ordered and I loved the creme brûlée. The final bill was relatively expensive compared to the rest of the Port A scene, but the dinner experience made everyone smile.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Love this Place - One of My Faves in Port Aransas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Venetian Hot Plate is wonderful for food and a favorite on the island. Make a reservation before going to Port A. My husband and I enjoyed the polenta nachos for a starter (sounds weird, but they were delicious) and ordered entrees. Me - the crab cakes (lots of crab). Him - the pork chop special. We enjoyed both. Dinners care served with a salad now, which I do not remember from the past. Salads were crisp and cold, and we chose the gorgonzola dressing (yum). Menu appears to have been updated. Our experience - good as usual on our annual trek. Atmosphere is casual and a little quirky.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venetian Hot Plate also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Venetian Hot Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venetian Hot Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.