We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night of the new menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venetian Hot Plate

Venetian Hot Plate
232 Beach St, Port Aransas, TX 78373
361-749-7617
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
San Antonio
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“First night of the new menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went here with three other families, not knowing that it was the very first night of their new menu.

The food was delicious. We watched table after table of apparent regulars come in, look at the menu and leave. I don't know if it was the new food items or the new price points but there were many unhappy people!

There weren't that many vegetarian options which was difficult since we were a group with four adult vegetarians and two child vegetarians. The kids all got pasta and were happy. The rest of us ordered a variety of items- shellfish, beef, salads, etc.

The wine was good, if a bit overpriced.

Hopefully, they'll get their pricing tweaked and will survive the winter because it was a nice place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    116
    34
    11
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“worth The Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had the great pleasure of visiting this amazing quaint and simple family restaurant during our Christmas vacation. Quality and flavor in Every single entree. My scallopini with mushroom shaped potatoes and shoe string vegetables was boasting with flavor, sampled the Bolognese and the evidence of slow cooked paccenta sends anyone to another dimension. EVERYONE in our table of seven raved about there meal.

The death by chocolate cake which one of the 2 young girls ordered was remarkable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The BEST on the island!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

They took an old convience store from decades ago and made it into an amazing Italian restaurant that is a "destination", for sure!..
I have need seen this quality of food or service on the island in my 42 years of coming here!..

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpus christi, tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Out "special occasion" restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

If you can get there early you must try the lasagne. It is wonderful and worth the early hour. They do sell out every night. The dip for the bread is very tasty. But don't eat too much or you will be too full to enjoy the other courses. Venice in Port Aransas! Can't wait to go back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A visit to Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

One of PA's best ... a trip to Venice while at the beach. And don't miss the lasagna on Saturday evening, but make certain to reserve your plate when you make your reservation!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venetian Hot Plate also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Venetian Hot Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venetian Hot Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.