We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night of the new menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venetian Hot Plate

Venetian Hot Plate
232 Beach St, Port Aransas, TX 78373
361-749-7617
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 76 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
San Antonio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“First night of the new menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went here with three other families, not knowing that it was the very first night of their new menu.

The food was delicious. We watched table after table of apparent regulars come in, look at the menu and leave. I don't know if it was the new food items or the new price points but there were many unhappy people!

There weren't that many vegetarian options which was difficult since we were a group with four adult vegetarians and two child vegetarians. The kids all got pasta and were happy. The rest of us ordered a variety of items- shellfish, beef, salads, etc.

The wine was good, if a bit overpriced.

Hopefully, they'll get their pricing tweaked and will survive the winter because it was a nice place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    46
    14
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“worth The Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had the great pleasure of visiting this amazing quaint and simple family restaurant during our Christmas vacation. Quality and flavor in Every single entree. My scallopini with mushroom shaped potatoes and shoe string vegetables was boasting with flavor, sampled the Bolognese and the evidence of slow cooked paccenta sends anyone to another dimension. EVERYONE in our table of seven raved about there meal.

The death by chocolate cake which one of the 2 young girls ordered was remarkable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The BEST on the island!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

They took an old convience store from decades ago and made it into an amazing Italian restaurant that is a "destination", for sure!..
I have need seen this quality of food or service on the island in my 42 years of coming here!..

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpus christi, tx
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Out "special occasion" restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

If you can get there early you must try the lasagne. It is wonderful and worth the early hour. They do sell out every night. The dip for the bread is very tasty. But don't eat too much or you will be too full to enjoy the other courses. Venice in Port Aransas! Can't wait to go back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A visit to Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

One of PA's best ... a trip to Venice while at the beach. And don't miss the lasagna on Saturday evening, but make certain to reserve your plate when you make your reservation!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venetian Hot Plate also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Venetian Hot Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venetian Hot Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.