We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still cooking good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shells Pasta & Seafood

Shells Pasta & Seafood
522 E Avenue G, Port Aransas, TX 78373
361-749-7621
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 72 restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Still cooking good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Shells has been one of the best in Port A for a long time. They have gotten a bit stingy in charging for bread and the glass of wine was tiny BUT the fish was excellent. Whoever makes the sauces is inspired. All in all, a terrific meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    141
    79
    32
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food -- small busy venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The food we ordered off the chalk board was great -- appetizers and entrees alike! Small building that was FULL when we arrived for lunch-- short wait and we had a table. Patio would be nice in warmer weather. We will definitely go back -- worth the wait at the ferry!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best mixed green salad and pasta.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Shell's is a wonderful small restaurant that has the best pastas, great salads, and super tuna tacos. Fresh Black Drum was yummy today with a nice sauce. A good appetizer is the slightly warmed olives with olive oil and rosemary. The spicy farfalle pasta with shrimp is great too. For something lighter, try the tomato basil soup. Enjoy!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great food and service, sad ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We chose this restaurant based on TA reviews. Walking into the restaurant there is not a host stand therefore you just walk into the middle of the restaurant and hope to catch someone's attention, which they don't return with a 'welcome or hello'. The wait was short. We were seated at a 2-person table near the door, fine once we moved the table away from the door entrance. We ordered shells with gorgonzola and crab/shrimp/sausage gumbo. All servings were more than enough and with garlic bread (topped with pesto and cheese), our bill of $34 was reasonable. Ambiance was sad. Interior painted battleship blue, janky lattice around coolers, and poor lighting doesn't make it feel like good food is served there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Found this little gem while in Port A. Food was delicious! I ordered off the chalk board and had the Mahi- to die for! My friend had the lamb, which was also so yummy. For such a small kitchen, the staff worked well together to give great service. The desert was amazing as well. We had the key lime pie and then took home the bunt cake and banana cream pie for desert the next night!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shells Pasta & Seafood also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast

Been to Shells Pasta & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shells Pasta & Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.