We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt's at the Tarpon Inn

Roosevelt's at the Tarpon Inn
200 East Cotter Avenue, Port Aransas, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food and great service! The seafood selection was great and the presentation was beautiful. A feast for the eyes as well as the palate. Crab cakes and coconut shrimp were yummy. Katie made homemade lemonade for our two young girls. The grouper and mahi mahi were delicious too! Worth the trip! We'll go next time for sure!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    12
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Disappointing, to say the least”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Our meal at Roosevelt's was disappointing. The coconut shrimp was tasteless except for the sauce drizzled on it. My steak was overcooked and dry. The potatoes had the potential to be good but were overwhelmed by parmesan. On the plus side, the asparagus was good and fresh, and the crab cakes were tasty. The hostess was so very friendly and accommodating. She is the reason for the high score in service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely evening on the porch at Roosevelt's in Port Aransas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

With an abundance of unique restaurants in Port A from which to choose, you will certainly appreciate the cuisine here. Enjoy the backporch ambiance of the Tarpon Inn and a glass of wine during appetizers. The baguette and quail's tails with risotto was wonderful. We tried all three salads then steak and lobster and finished with french pressed coffee and white chocolate bread pudding. Incredible! We are spoiled and stuffed to the gills.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“missing something....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Took our family of 10 there and had made reservations way in advance...our table was not ready and we were not even offered cocktails while we waited . long wait , the place is sooo drab. Overhead lighting only..horrible ambiance. Felt like I was in a warehouse. The food was so-so and for the price, never again. They need larger candles on tables, floor lamps, etc. There was only 2 ladies (Hostess was trying to accomodate and sweet) but come on, the food took forever and everyone got ancy. get it together owners! Won't be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gourmet Chef meals! If you want "the best" come here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The young chef (Jeff?) was amazing - with fast gourmet platings and some of the finest garnishes and plate designs that you will see. Very accommodating, allowing us our dogs on the patio, and the General Manager took time to speak with us at length and even give us some great historical knowledge about the hotel and restaurant. Had calamari, the bread (oily but delicious), mahi-mahi, rack of lamb and amazing bread pudding and key limon pie, accompanied by a well recommended wine bottle pairing from the Chef. We will be back!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roosevelt's at the Tarpon Inn also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Roosevelt's at the Tarpon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roosevelt's at the Tarpon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.