We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish they were open during our visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Port "A" Seafood Co.

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Port "A" Seafood Co.
108 South Alister Street, Port Aransas, TX 78373
361-749-6456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wish they were open during our visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I know the reviews said the hours are sketchy, we went there twice but they were closed both times due to maintenance and vehicle problems. Love to try them on our next visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best fresh fish around, guaranteed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you want to eat at home, this is the place to buy your seafood and shrimp and all the delicious sauces to cook them with. great variety and reasonable prices for the high quality.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Place is pretty decent, though it's not the cleanest. The people working there aren't the brightest, yet they're friendly. If you're done deep sea fishing it's a great place to stop by for something to eat, but it's not somewhere I'd go out of my way to go.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Port A The best on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

After reading the reviews here, we decided to try the place out. I was expecting to drop by, make my purchase and hurry back to the condo and try to figure out how to make my shrimp boil.

They do carry everything here for the boils plus different varieties of fish, and sides. Their shrimp boil mixture is unbelievable. You'll throw that Old Bay in the dumpster after trying theirs!

Having only done a boil once many years ago, I needed a little refresher course. I not only learned exactly how to cook it, but also was loaned the steam pot as well. When I asked what time it was due back, she said, "Whenever we get time". Ok, now coming from the city we don't hear that often, do we?

We chatted for about half an hour about their seafood and life on the island in general. Its going to be a permanent spot on our list from now on.

Thank you Port A Seafood for your hospitality and adding to the memories of a very special family gathering.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Point, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a very hometown delight family owned and operated they had delicious fresh shrimp heads on or off. You can pick out exactly what you want and they can steam it up for you or you can borrow the stuff to go back to you place and boil it up yourself!! The son is running it and he's a sweet heart.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port "A" Seafood Co. also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Port "A" Seafood Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port "A" Seafood Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.