We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fish and Chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Cafe & Bakery

Beaches Cafe & Bakery
118 Beach Street, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 75 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Opened recently. telephone 361-749-BBQ1 Info (not their website) at http://www.portasouthjetty.com/node/63622 including an ad.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Yum Yum - Fish is fantastic and the fries are real. Under renovations on our last trip - hope they are open on our next visit.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    67
    42
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beaches Cafe... a must go on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

So.. we were casting about for a place to eat..and drove by this spot......'"Let's go there!" she said..... Ok, sez i.
Promptly seated... Sergio waited on us....Great Guy!!
he informed us about the local brews..and the PA Brewhouse.... and then let us sample a bit...
Yummy brews!!! the BBQ Ribs were melt in your MOUTH. the pork and brisket sandwiches were also just so tender......
thumbs up for me for the Bob's Sauce. She fancies the Sweet One.

Only regret is wish we had found this place the first time we visited the Coastal Bend last year!!!!!

did i mention Sergio was the best!!! :) ?????

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food Just Hire More Help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Our first day arriving in Port Aransas we typically eat dinner out that night. This year and last year we ate at Beaches. Last year was an amazing experience - for food and service. This year was awful for service and good for food.

We were a party of 7 adults, 2 toddlers and 2 babies. We arrived before the dinner rush and were seated as soon as we had our full party. We placed our drink orders then waited.....placed our dinner orders (requested kids meals come ASAP) then waited....and waited....and waited....the kids meals came and were eaten even before the adult meals came. My husband had to down his dinner and then leave with our 2 year old son because it was just taking too long. I think we were there at least two hours and only spent the last 30 minutes eating.

Yes, the restaurant became busier after we arrived and we were a large party but I feel like this still shouldn't have been an issue. I've been with large parties at places before and never waited this long.

I say all that about the service but will end with saying the food is really good. I've had the BBQ both years and really enjoy it. Other family members who have had the fish entrees were pleased as well. Fries are delish!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Checked out Beaches Café and Bakery. Had a sliced BBQ sandwich. Great flavor and tender. Fries were same as everywhere else but the Ranch dressing was good. Fun atmosphere, great service, good prices. Too full to try the desserts. Will have to do that next time!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Had lunch here. Have been many times in past. Seems to have a new menu, more focused on BBQ and seafood. Service was prompt. Took a while for food to come out, but that seems about par for the course in this part of the state. BBQ was delicious. The bun that was used for my sandwich was delicious. I seriously cannot remember the last time I recall the bread being a highlight of my experience at a BBQ place. Will continue to visit when we are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaches Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Beaches Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.