We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Food was great"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Cafe & Bakery

Beaches Cafe & Bakery
118 Beach Street, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 75 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Opened recently. telephone 361-749-BBQ1 Info (not their website) at http://www.portasouthjetty.com/node/63622 including an ad.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“"Food was great"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I would first off like to say after reading many reviews I would have to agree that the service you get here needs some work. When we arrived we had to wait for a table to get cleaned off which seem to take much longer than was necessary but maybe they were short handed not sure. Once seated we waited probably 5-10mins before we were greeted by the waiter whom was super nice. As for the food I tried the Brisket Nachos and they were worth the wait so "Yummy" there were several things they happened to be out of the night we visited it seemed everything my Sister wanted they were out of "Chicken Fried Steak, Green Beans, and a few other things. My daughter had the Fish basket and there was alot of food, my friends husband tried the Ribs,and said they were very good. We had the Crab stuffed Jalapenos for a appetizer and they were delicious. I would come back for the food just hope the service will improve.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    67
    42
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better places on the island....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The salad was fresh and crisp. The desert of banana pudding was to die for but the meal....was VERY disappointing. 14.99 for 8 small shrimp grilled and an old baked potato with cheese baked on it hours ago. The shrimp was undercooked. I will not be back except for dessert. Sad that people this.k this is good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delectable Shrimp and Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Sort of local beachy feel that makes the food surprising. The fred shrimp and fish were absolutely wonderful. Fresh, moist and tasty. ..cooked just right. While fries a little on the cool (temperature wise), grilled veggies done right. service good and wait person was friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food and value at this family restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Good food, clean restaurant, very good atmosphere - a solid pick among Port A establishments. They went out of their way to accommodate the shellfish food allergy of one of our party's members. All of their desserts are made from scratch at the restaurant - excellent key lime pie and Italian creme cupcake. They have excellent burgers and fish 'n chips.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant. Awesome brisket nachos.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This restaurant was very clean, spacious and welcoming. I liked that it wasn't a shack. Though I have had great meals in some of the area "shacks"....just wanted to sit and enjoy a good meal in a clean welcoming restaurant. The brisket nachos are AWESOME! Also, the grilled shrimp was very good. Hubby had the ribeye steak which was pretty good...not awesome but still pretty good. The fried flounder lacked flavor so it was just ok. I would definitely go there again...just would not order the fried flounder. I would also definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaches Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Beaches Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.