We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Tasty, Healthy Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Cafe & Bakery - CLOSED

Beaches Cafe & Bakery
118 Beach Street, Port Aransas, TX 78373
3617491
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Opened recently. telephone 361-749-BBQ1 Info (not their website) at http://www.portasouthjetty.com/node/63622 including an ad.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
399 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good, Tasty, Healthy Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This place surprised me. After the plethora of fried food and gooey cole slaw joints all over Point A, Beaches proved a nice counterpoint. Yes, they have fried fish and shrimp, but that isn't the focus. The real stars are the well-executed barbeque, the mostly organic steaks, the baked goods, and the sides. The cole slaw here is the best I have ever had, with a clean cranberry base, and including carrots and raisins. The green beans are sublime, and the mashed potatos tasty but not rich. My wife had the grilled shrimp and was very pleased. I had the German sausage, made specially for Beaches, according to the owner, a gregarious bear who carefully works the room. They also have a wonderful Texas wine and beer list (try the lager), and even a good tea assortment. A totally unexpected find in a touristy area. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    67
    43
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Turn in the Right Direction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were just alzily wandering through Port Aransas and vaguely looking for a place for lunch. A turn through a parking lot led us accidentally to this place. What a pleasant surprise ti was!! The BBQ is some of the best I have ever had and the choice of beers was superb. The wait staff was fun to chat with and had a good sense of local knowledge and spicy conversation. After the meal we purchased some of the pastries as well for the next days breakfast. So very excellent! Prices were reasonable and it's fairly close tot he beach.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best place on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We tried several of the restuarants this past weekend. Beaches is our favorite. The coffee (roasted in-house) was superb. Much better than the coffee at Coffee Waves and much less expensive. The brisket was sublime. The chef learned from a 4 time World BBQ Champion. I am from Austin and am very picky about BBQ. This brisket will make you very happy.
The fried shrimp was excellent. It was fresh with a light coating and soooo yummy. The waitresses and chef are fun and interesting people who come out and talk with you when they can (it depends how busy they are). Everything about this restaurants says "high quality".

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The seafood here wasn't anything special. Stick with the other items on the menu.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had heard good things about this place, but what we ordered, the seafood platter, was not as good as other places and cost more. Since they are known for their bar bq, that is probably the thing to order here. The service was fine and the key lime pie was great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, OK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Beaches is Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We go to Beaches alot. That is because the food is terrific. The barbeque is simply great. Side dishes are also very good. In addition, they have a bakery and make their own bread. Good place for breakfast as well. The pork sandwich is as good as any in Oklahoma and we know our BBQ. Its always an outstanding place to dine.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaches Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.