We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best brisket I've ever eaten!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Cafe & Bakery

Beaches Cafe & Bakery
118 Beach Street, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Opened recently. telephone 361-749-BBQ1 Info (not their website) at http://www.portasouthjetty.com/node/63622 including an ad.
2 reviews
“Best brisket I've ever eaten!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

Friendly, but somewhat inefficient wait staff. Good beer selection and great brisket and sauce.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    67
    42
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Went twice-- good food, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We originally went because of good Yelp reviews (not so good reviews on this site) and went back a second time because it was really good food for a good price. This restaurant does not specialize in the usual "everything is fried" mentality that is prevalent in 90% of the places on Port A.

1st meal-- Blackened flounder with garlic mashed potatoes and fried corn on the cob. The flounder was a little too oily (butter maybe?) but was still really good. Just the right amount of spices and cooked to perfection. The sides were very good also. They brought out my son's meal 1st which is great when you have a hungry toddler!

2nd meal -- my significant other ordered the Surf and Turf (steak and shrimp). He was impressed by how perfectly the steak was cooked. I ordered the crab cakes (which was not fried-- nice touch) and a side salad w/ Blue cheese dressing. The crab cakes were amazing and the Blue cheese dressing had a chunk of real blue cheese. Delicious!

Service was fast, friendly, and fun. Will go back on our next visit to Port A.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stopped by here our first night in Port Aransas and had a very tasty dinner -- mostly seafood, plus some nice pastries from the bakery. Very pleasant atmosphere and a friendly waiter made for an excellent experience. We plan to go back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“High prices, bad food, and poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We went to Port A with family members who were visiting Corpus with the intention of eating at Mobey Dick's, which has been reliably good. MD's was closed (this was a Sunday), so we tried several other restaurants that had long seating lists. We got right in to Beaches (first clue). Our orders were varied, from seafood to barbecue. We waited two hours for our entrees. Drinks were watery. When we inquired twice about the long wait, our waiter was rude and kept looking around the room and stating, "you can see what is going on here". Well, the room was only half filled. Our waiter made a big show of bustling up to our table, but checked our table only twice during the two-hour wait. The brisket was tough, the barbecue beans were sickly sweet, and the vegetables had some sort of awful barbecue sauce on them. The "fish basket" came out in a basket and the (priced at over 19.00) "fish platter" came out in a basket and the fish was tough, shrimp minuscule. Our bill for 5 (including one child who had a pbj sandwich) came to 118.00, which would have been palatable had the food been palatable.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Finally a place with a Great Beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

My wife and I were down with friends over the 4th of July week and stopped into Beaches from rumors of a good beer selection. Coming from Austin, we are spoiled with many excellent local breweries, and we enjoy some hoppy beer. We were pleasantly surprised to find an excellent selection considering Beaches only had about 20 taps. They had several Real Ale and Live Oak selections along with 471 IPA from Breckenridge. Yum.

Typically on the island we find plenty of ML/BL/and Coors on the island. We consume as much Firemans #4 from Lovette's as possible until the keg is gone so we are very happy to find such the selection here.

The only food we tried was the pulled pork nachos which were quite tasty. I have heard to only get BBQ and steak here for food which are both suppose to be pretty good for Port A.

Hope this helps someone/

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaches Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Beaches Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.