We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Motel Ever!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tropic Island Resort to your Saves list
Tropic Island Resort
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   315 Cut Off Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$5 off room rate
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Motel Ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

stayed from 7/18-7/20 2014 in room 102, was the worst room to stay in.. half the room items either broken or not working properly, told the front desk, made no attempt to remedy the problem..

Never visit this place, we paid over $400 for this room, looked like a room that you would charge by the hour, plus no free wifi as advertised, no breakfast, and no care in the world for loud music while others tried to sleep...

Next time we'll stay in a Holiday Inn Express, at least they have free wifi and a hot breakfast!!

Room Tip: Stick to Holiday Inn or reputable hotels in the Main Land (Corpus Christi or Aransas Pass), you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    0
    3
    10
See reviews for
17
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Yes the place did raise their rent, BUT my wife and i checked all around the island and this is by far the cleanest, nicest place, AND it is still $100 cheaper then other places. The staff was beyond friendly, the location was unbeatable, and the amenities were great. I recommend this place to anyone who plans to visit the island. My family will be staying here again next year!

Room Tip: They stay booked, but I would try to stay close to the rec room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with another couple in a two bedroom condo house. Very clean. There are some less than clean places to stay in Port A and will cost you an arm and a leg to stay in their filth, but not Tropical Resort. They were very friendly and my family and I had an excellent time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This place has raised their lot rent $100 a month in the past 2 years all so we can sit there and watch him work on his fishing boat. Stayed there 2 years in a row and watched as nothing was done to improve anything in the RV park. I guess until enough people like me get fed up with crap like this nothing will change. Count my wife and I out of this park for ever.

Room Tip: This place is "NOT" worth $519 a month to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicislandresort, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We're sorry about the misunderstanding about the price but not contacting us to verify if you'll be affected with the price change is not on us (which you're not actually affected). And as for Ken, the owner, he has a personal life of his own, too. He can't always be around the property 24/7 but will be happy to accommodate or fix something for you. The only hobby of the owner is fishing and traveling and having a business is tiring.

Our prices needed to change because of other places raising up, we're not forcing you to stay with us but contacting us to verify something is a very big help on our part.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Stephanie and Ken are awesome at Tropic Island RV resort. Great accommodations and came through when I was in a pinch! Very nicely located in the heart of Port Aransas. Great pool, nice neighbors, quite, and kid friendly!

Highly recommended!
Marcus Bayona
San Antonio, TX

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Was very clean and cozy. It is in a good location. May not be near the beach but it has all the necessaties and swimming pool is big for everyone. Enjoyed our stay with this and continue to go back every time.

Room Tip: Room with a kitchenette was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My family and i go to Port A every year and we always stay come because its clean and safe, a great location to walk around the town day and night. And bye the way there about 7 families come here. Its a great place to stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicislandresort, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for a great review of our place. We promise on your next stay, we will do our best to accommodate you better.

Thank you so much for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropic Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Island Resort

Address: 315 Cut Off Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropic Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Island Motel & RV Resort is located on 8 acres in the heart of Port Aransas, TX. City Marina and boat ramps 2 blocks away. Close to restaurants and ferry landing. We can accommodate you with motel and kitchen suites located on one side of the park and we also have approximately 150 RV sites available on the other side of the park. Our office is located between the Motel and RV park near the main road. Accommodations include Pool & Spa, BBQ Grills for Motel guest, Fish Cleaning house, Laundry on site, Boat Parking, Bath house for RV guest, Free Cable, WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropic Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.