We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Island Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropic Island Resort
315 Cut Off Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$5 off room rate
Bella Vista, Arkansas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I spent the month of Feb. at The Tropic Island. We made reservations on the spur-of-the -moment, so the only space available was the efficiency kitchenette. It served our purposes, as we wanted to fish all day. We had a problem with the frig. and it was fixed promptly. ALL the people there were sooooooooo friendly and helpful with lots of fishing tips. One of the things we liked the most, was the island is so layed-back and relaxing. The resort is very clean and within walking distance to shops and restaurants . Ken and Linda are so friendly and easy to work with. They made our stay very enjoyable. We would love to return next year to a bigger kitchenette. Thanks for your hospitality!! Donna and Ken LaNou

Room Tip: Reserve early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    0
    2
    9
See reviews for
14
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in the RV park for a whole summer. The pool is TINY and you have to share it with the motel guests.......that means it is packed all summer long. The property is maintained and they are vigilant about cutting the grass every Friday. Lots of mosquitoes despite their efforts from the empty field next door. The mgmt staff is just odd. Blank stares and after spending half the year there, never recognized us. The motel property is very dated and the RV spots are super close together. No parking for guests.

Room Tip: Competition for RV spots have better service and facilities in Port A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicislandresort, Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
During the summer, all of Port Aransas is busy with vacationers. Our park is spread over 8 acres with 150 RV sites and near 40 motel rooms. We do strive to keep the property well maintained at all times. This may mean cutting the grass once a week if necessary. Unfortunately, mosquitoes are unavoidable anywhere you go in Port Aransas and all of south Texas for that matter. The city sends a mosquito spray truck throughout Port Aransas and through our park as part of the countys mosquito control program. We apologize if we do not recognize everyone in the park, for we have hundreds of guest staying with us throughout the summer months.
We have various types and sizes of RV sites. They range form 18 X 57 to 25 X 70 and even larger corner sites. We have some of the largest RV sites in Port Aransas in fact. Also, we do have a large overflow area for additional campers, boat parking, and guest parking for a small fee. Please inquire about this at our front desk, and we will be pleased to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

The RV sites are way to close! I had yo pay five dollars to use the bathroom. I mean i could understand the bathroom key during spring break where strangers may just be walking in but in the middle of January?

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicislandresort, Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
We have various types and sizes of RV sites. They range from 18 X 57 to 25 X 70 and even larger corner sites. We have some of the largest RV sites in all of Port Aransas in fact. We do require a $5.00 deposit for the bath house key. This applies to everyone and all year round. If we did not require this deposit, our keys would never be returned at check out. This gives guest the incentive to return our bath house keys before returning home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The Tropic Island Resort isn't anything fancy , but it is comfortable and affordable. We had a King bedroom which had a microwave and refrigerator and nice large flat screen TV. The bathroom was large enough and it had a tub/shower combo. We like to stay here because it is convenient to walk to anywhere in town. You can go to the park, shopping, fishing, or out to eat. It has a nice pool and hot tub. No pets allowed. Non Smoking rooms. They also have a RV park next door which is very nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Terrible stay, our medication was stolen. We tried to report it to the owner who then got very aggitated and said we were lying. He then, with all of his staff, retaliated and did not clean our rooms, empty trash or bring us fresh towels. He also made the experience very miserable because he started a confrontation every time we were near him calling us liars and being very rude. I would recommend staying somewhere else as this just happened in January 2012. Our only regret is not filing a police report.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicislandresort, Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
This was an interesting incident. After they received room service for the first time, the guest informed us that various medications were so carefully removed from each of their pill containers. We explained, this must be a mistake, for you must have a key to enter the room. This lead to the accusations of our staff stealing from them. These medications, for one, are not favorable to anyone. After this, our housekeepers did not service their rooms, for they were afraid of being accused of stealing anything else from these guest. We did exchange their towels in the office. This incident must not have been as serious as they made it seem, because a report was never filed with the police as they told us they would proceed to do.
We are not responsible for any theft or loss of valuables of any kind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

This is our second year staying here during the winter months. The resort is very clean. The restrooms and showers are clean and well kept. Everyone in the office is friendly and helpful. We always enjoy our stay here, and look forward to returning!!!! Thanks Ken and Linda, and staff for making this such an enjoyable place to stay!!!

David & Patti Simpkinson

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mineral wells
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The motel, kitchen suites, and RV park are clean and well-maintained. The clerk at the front desk was very friendly and gave us alot of helpful information on activities in the area. It is centrally located to all the shops and eating places. The swimming pool and hottub was clean. Kudos to the management. They greet you with a smile. This time we came without the rest of our family, but this place is great for everyone anytime of the year. We will be back.

Room Tip: The motel rooms 127-134 are extra big.Lots of room with the 2 queen beds. RV sites are big are easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicislandresort, Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your courteous review . Our staff here at Tropic Island strives to do the best they can, leaving our guest at ease. We have high standards staff must meet including cleanliness of rooms and entire facility, maintenance, landscaping, accommodations, and service. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us worry free as it should be and hope to see you again! Your review is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropic Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Island Resort

Address: 315 Cut Off Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Specialty lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Island Motel & RV Resort is located on 8 acres in the heart of Port Aransas, TX. City Marina and boat ramps 2 blocks away. Close to restaurants and ferry landing. We can accommodate you with motel and kitchen suites located on one side of the park and we also have approximately 150 RV sites available on the other side of the park. Our office is located between the Motel and RV park near the main road. Accommodations include Pool & Spa, BBQ Grills for Motel guest, Fish Cleaning house, Laundry on site, Boat Parking, Bath house for RV guest, Free Cable, WiFi available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tropic Island Resort to your Saves list