We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Not So Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Barataria

La Barataria
3500 Island Moorings Pkwy, Port Aransas, TX 78373
361-749-2212
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Barataria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: State Highway 361
Transit: Port Aransas / Mustang Island offers a free trolley. Island Moorings Yacht Club and Marina and La Barataria are on the free trolley route. La Barataria offers pick-up service from Mustang Municipal Airport and Newport Dunes and Golf Club.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Not So Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was 4th of July weekend so we made reservations two wks in advance. We called the morning of the reservation to verify and to request indoors since it was a warm day. When we arrived they did not have are reservation request to be indoors. We were a party of 6 seated at a very small table in the pathway with tall rickety chairs. (There were empty tables but they would not seat us there)You expect if a meal that was going to cost over $100 per couple you would have better seating and something besides beach towels and bath washcloths for napkins and linens. The inside of the restaurant was very warm until the sun went down. The food was excellent even if it did take well over an hour to be served. At the end of the meal the waitress would not split the check by couples which would have been nice to know ahead of time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    9
    6
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ortonville, Michigan
1 review
“My Favorite Fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I took his parents out to dinner to thank them for hosting us for a week of fun in the sun. (We're from Michigan and needed some sun). The meal we enjoyed was wonderful and I especially was thrilled to find the catch of the day was my favorite, Chilean Sea Bass. The chef's presentation was wonderful. The cheese plate appetizer was very robust and had a good variety of cheeses and tasty bread. My husband and his parents all had the grilled shrimp. They were very large and tasty. The restaurant also has a very nice wine list with something for everyone. A wonderful place for a great upscale meal at an excellent price. Can't wait to go back when we return for the winter season in January!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC, can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

GO OUT OF YOUR WAY to try La Barataria in Port Aransas, Texas. The FOOD was OUTSTANDING, the SERVICE EXQUISITE, the staff was very well informed and their recommendations worth following. Being located in the MARINA the atmosphere was most enjoyable, a variety of dinning locations provided something for everyone, from pool side or the outdoor deck to cool comfortable inside tables and bar. MOST IMPORTANTLY THE FOOD, the owner Ms Leslie has a WONDERFUL MENU with fresh specials and THE BEST FILET MIGNON known to man, bone in filet, a FIRST for us. DO NOT MISS OUT ON THIS UNIQUE APPROACH TO STEAK like never before. The FISH is off the hook, much care and attention is paid to the sauces and presentation, the sushi sampler was more than I could handle. ANOTHER TO DIE FOR SIDE IS THE LOBSTER MASHED POTATOES, do not miss out on this fantastic approach which was more lobster than potatoes. The BREAD BASKET is worth a visit on its own, ALL BREADS MADE IN HOUSE fresh and warm served with olive oil and herbs plus something special. GO THERE DO NOT DELAY. Went there all the way FROM ARIZONA and was not disappointed, going 372 miles out of our way on the return trip just to eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You get what you wait for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

So we rad the reviews and knew we where going to be in for a long wait. So we went at sunset without an agenda and the desire to have a few cocktails and enjoy each others company. The wait was about twohours from the time of our reservations till the entree's hit the table.

We both had the special of the day which was fresh seabass on a bed of lobster mashed potatoes and creamed spinich. We really did not believe that the meal would be worth the wait but we were both happily surprised. The preperation competes with the best seafood we have had including places like oceanaire and GW Fins. And cost much less.

Not a ton of variety on the menu but it didn't matter. It was delicious and we will return and take visitors.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuero, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Fathers Day Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you want quality at the highest standard on the island, please visit La Barataria at Island Mooring's Yacht Club. the beautiful surroundings combined with a remarkable menu leaves nothing to be desired! although this was my first visit, I assure you we will return!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barataria also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Barataria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Barataria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.