We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Advisor, you really failed us!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 3rd Coast Inn

Save Saved
You added 3rd Coast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
3rd Coast Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   718 S. Station St, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Port Aransas B&B and Inns
Fredericksburg, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor, you really failed us!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Third Coast Inn is rated by Trip Advisor as the most outstanding place to stay in Port Aransas, TX. We reserved a room based on that rating. We just spent 3 nights at 3rd Coast Inn in room 7. The ceiling in our room was no more than 4 inches above my 6'1" husband's head. We felt like we needed to duck down all the time. The room was so tiny there was no place for a chair...the only chair was in the bathroom!! yuck...and the bathroom didn't even have a vent fan. The place was very clean except that there were dozens of very tiny bugs scurrying around on the shelf where we put our luggage. We are right now washing all our stuff and bug-spraying our luggage to try to keep from importing the bugs into our home.

The queen-sized bed, which filled the tiny room, was of very poor construction. Neither my husband nor I are enormous people but the bed made noises like it was about to collapse each time we sat on it, lay down on it, rolled over, etc. We think it is a very cheap box spring (but aren't sure). The mattress seemed too soft and neither of us slept well.

The owners are friendly and gave us excellent recommendations for places to eat around town. The place looks dumpy from the outside and we wouldn't have even pulled in if we hadn't had a paid reservation. Third Coast Inn certainly wasn't what we expected.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Well sadly I guess this has to happen at some point, after 71 happy reviewers we finally met that one unhappy guest. First I would like to address the remark that this guest had a prepaid reservation,there is no such thing here at 3rd Coast Inn, we do require a credit card to reserve a room as does every other motel, however we do not charge until you arrive unless you request to prepay. As I recall upon check in this guest also ask to see the room BEFORE paying which they did and said everything was fine! When the reservation was made the guest was also informed that we had a bigger room available , however because the rate was $10.00 more per night for the bigger room they declined. There was no mention made of any bugs in the room during their stay and we saw this guest daily and inquired as to how things were and if they needed anything and was always told everything was fine. We cannot address a problem we do not know about. As for the bed all of our rooms have new mattresses, this particular room also has a brand new bed. We take great pride in the maintenance of 3rd Coast Inn and the satisfaction of our guests , as I think the good 71 reviews show!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I didn't know what to expect when we rolled up to the 3rd Coast Inn for our 2 night jaunt to Port A. Two young gals looking to hit the beach on a budget. We knew the price was right and the location was good. We were a little nervous when we pulled up to what looked like a rusty lil motel but were put at ease as soon as we talked to the awesome innkeepers. They were super friendly and gave great suggestions for dinner (Shells!)
We stayed in room 7 which is super cool and has its own little private screened porch area. It had everything my friend and I needed for a stay at the beach. Actually, the place has more than you need! Once the sun set, the pool and hot tub area came alive with multi-color lights and friendly guests. We had the best time at 3rd Coast! We will be returning soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice things you said about us, we try very hard to accomodate all of our guests needs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My 20 y.o. son and I just stayed for 3 days at the 3rd Coast Inn. It was superb; and better yet, very much Port A. Not a fancy hotel. No name brand. Just a place that people who believe in Port A and carry on the tradition of small hotels with astounding service and personal connections. We so appreciated Deanne and Darcy. We also appreciated their eagerness to turn on the hot tub as early as we wanted, as unfortunately the weather turned cold and rainy. Having in the past had my own amazing hot tub, I was so amazed that their's was just the right temperature and very clean, not something I've been experiencing in even the hot shot hotels.
They are good people, with a fine place, and eager to provide good service, which they do in such a warm and good manner.

Room Tip: We stayed in the efficiency, Room 5, which was fine for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the awesome review! We really enjoyed meeting you , and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just returned from a 2 day stay and wish it could have been alot longer. The room was so cozy and the bed soft. The 3rd Coast Inn is Pet friendly and that was a important for us since we were taking our dog for her first trip to the beach. When we called to make our reservation it was already last minute and we were going to have a real late arrival but Chris who spoke to my wife on the phone did not have a problem with that. Everyone on the property made us feel at home and welcome. I am having a hard time giving this, such high praise only because there are only 7 rooms and want to make sure there is availability when I am ready to go back next month, but I have to let everyone know how great this place is. I have gone to Port A numerous times before and have tried several different places but now I will plan for a 3rd Coast Inn stay everytime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate all the nice things you said about us and we are glad that you and your doggie enjoyed your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you guys again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in Room No 5 and we had such a great time. Beside that the room was very clean, plenty of towels, fully furnished, quiet, fun colors, it was so nice to have chats with Darcy all the time. We really enjoyed everything and it was our best spot in Texas during these 2 weeks of travelling. Thank you'll so much, Erika and David from Switzerland

Room Tip: No 5 was great, plenty of space, quiet, very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My friends and I stayed at room #1 and it was amazing! I was very surprised (in a very pleasant way)! Twas a little squished but definitely cozy, I personally loved the little details of the interior; pops of color, plenty of towels that are available to use... and the fact that it was fully furnished was amazing itself. Conveniently close to the beach and next door to a Stripes, it makes for a nice little stroll. Very dog friendly, our neighbors and owner(s) were nice, the AC worked perfectly fine (not humid whatsoever, hooray!) and very cute & tidy place. Very easy on the eyes (: I absolutely recommend this place to those that want to visit Port A and will definitely come here again, perhaps sooner than later (:

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thanks for the nice review! Glad that you enjoyed your time spent with us and hope that you can make it to the beach again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Came here with a group of friends for the weekend. The staff of the location is very friendly and helpful, anything you need and they will try to accommodate. Very small yet cozy units, fully furnished with kitchenette and everything one needs to sleep, cook, and wash up for a wonderful beach filled weekend. Literally less than half a mile from the beach entrance, this 7 unit inn is small and cozy, perfect for a get away. Pets are welcome.

Room Tip: Every unit is different, ask for recommendations based on party size and activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us , and appreciate you taking the time to write a review for 3rd Coast Inn. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 3rd Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3rd Coast Inn

Address: 718 S. Station St, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — 3rd Coast Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your 3rd Coast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3rd Coast Hotel Port Aransas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3rd Coast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.