We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie's Kitchen

Frankie's Kitchen
717 Tarpon Street, Port Aransas, TX 78373
+1 361-749-1909
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 75 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Family owned and operated. Dedicated to cooking, fresh, home made food. Breakfast all day! Eggs Benedict, Pancakes, Omelets, Biscuits & Gravy, Grits, Fruit and more. Lunch includes Specials, Fish, Shrimp, Burgers, Soup and much more. Deserts are made by Frankie and daughter Joni. Pies, Banana Pudding, cookies and more!
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Like home made. Great food. Nice staff. Try the pancakes and the shrimp omelette. The locals will recommend Avery's so the you don't cause a wait at Frankie's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    23
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Little Place in Port Aransas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our first experience at Frankie's, and we enjoyed our experience. We went for Sunday brunch at 1:00 in the afternoon. My husband wanted breakfast, and I wanted lunch. We heard Frankie's was a little "hole in the wall" in Port A where the food was good and hearty and decided to try it.

My husband enjoyed his country breakfast, complete with eggs over easy, bacon, home fries, and a biscuit, and I loved my fried shrimp plate that was served with fries and coleslaw (butterflied shrimp, hand cut fries, delicious slaw). I felt like the food was made with love. The staff/family were extremely friendly when dining. Our water and coffee cups were consistently filled too. A really good sign when some waitstaff from the Venetian Hot Plate (another restaurant in town) were spotted dining here at the same time, as well as other waitstaff from across the way picking up food for their own lunch break. Go here for the food, not the atmosphere (clean, little, simple). There are only six tables and one cook for the kitchen, so be prepared for a wait (restaurant only seats 23 tops). We would go back for a nosh. Oh yeah - the prices are reasonable. Cash only.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This place ROCKED must go!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Amazing food cooked and severed by quite possibly the nicest people you'll ever meet. My daughter doesn't eat very much but she almost smashed their child's hamburger (Which by the way makes Burger Kings big Mac seems tiny). I can't wait to go back it was delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best kept secret - Excellent home style cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is our favorite restaurant in Port Aransas! Best Breakfast and lunches you will find anywhere. Make sure you go early though, they are only open til 2:00 and take Cash, they don't accept anything else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Port A”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Frankie's never disapoints. Her breakfast is amazing everthing served is homemande and you can tell it. The blueberry pancakes are to die for as well as the biscuts and gravy. The service is good and everyone is friendy. It's a bit cozy with only 6 tables but we never feel rushed when we are there eating in fact it's relaxing. If you come in a stranger, you'll leave as a friend. One thing to remember is that they take cash only no credit cards but there is an ATM across the street just in case you forget. It's worth getting up early but even for lunch the food is great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie's Kitchen also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Frankie's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.