We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Seafood and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kody's Restaurant and Bar

Kody's Restaurant and Bar
2034 State Hwy 361, Port Aransas, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Local Seafood and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a local place that was not expensive and offered a shrimp po'boy sandwich. We found it here. We went during lunchtime and the service was very quick and friendly. It looked as if lots of locals were eating there as well as tourists. It is more of a grill and bar type restaurant than the larger places in town that offer seafood.
Shrimp po'boy was very tasty as well as was the fries. We could have just ordered on order of fries and fed the both of us. We also had the stuffed/fried jalapeno, they were very tasty.

We will be back again when in Port A.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    78
    43
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I don't understand the high rating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We did not have this problem, but people can smoke inside. It is an old bar. The food is mostly fried. Portions are good and prices are good, but it's not like a Chili's in that it's a nice atmosphere...
Try another place unless you must have fried food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plains
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fried fish and grilled shrimp”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The fried fish and grilled shrimp were good, but the other dishes were average. The staff appeared very tired and overwhelmed and some customers left because the wait to order was so long. Needs better organization and a little more TLC on all foods. More of a bar type place than grill and bar.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and has putt-putt golf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

It has a bar in the front. The restaurant seating is best in the back and in a side room for families.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We went here on our family vacation and the food was great across the board. I got the Mussels Diablo which were very good, but not as spicy as I probably hoped. We counted and there were 29 mussels in my order! Others got the burger, fried seafood and garlic fish (which was probably the best thing ordered). The price was what I expect in Port A and was a solid choice for a great meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kody's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kody's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kody's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.