We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone wants to tell of the negative experience, what about the positive?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of That Takes the Cake

That Takes the Cake
P,O. Box, Port Aransas, TX 78373
+1 361-244-5014
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 76 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
“Everyone wants to tell of the negative experience, what about the positive?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I look forward to going to Bundy's every Sunday after church. The Bread puddin is to die for! I also enjoy the scrambled eggs with biscuit and gravy. The coffee is really good and fresh. If it is your first visit, you can help yourself to the coffee and proceed to the register to order. Unfortunately, no one is greeting you to tell you how ordering works. You are on your own for finding the flatware, napkins and even the water. It is a very small, quaint place. I enjoy the atmosphere. The service is just OK, they are simply too busy to acknowledge everyone that walks through the door.

I have a feeling that the "older lady" that previous reviews commented on, must be gone.

My final word: Try it for yourself!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food, service needs some work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a really cute little bakery, breakfast, and lunch place. We arrived at about 11am on a Saturday to find a few people in line ahead of us and they were running out of lots of things - pigs in a blanket, strawberry smoothies, muffins...to be fair, we were on the edge of lunch time, but it was still disappointing. The place is small with just a few tables, and the open ones were all dirty, so we had to clean and bus our own. It took a long time to be waited on and we got our food piecemeal.The smoothies tasted mostly like cold milk - I'm not sure if they ran out of fruit? The other food was good - chicken salad sandwich on a croissant was yummy, breakfast sandwich was also very good; the kids liked the pigs in a blanket. The place was a little bit warm and the servers seemed really stressed. It sounds like they are in a transition time between owners; this place has a lot of potential. I would definitely go back and give it another try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portatam, Owner at That Takes the Cake, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Bundys was sold May 21, 2012 and is no longer open...the restaurant that is reviewed here is called "Eats Port A"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We ate breakfast her three mornings and it was great, staff is very friendly but they run out of stuff quickly so get there early.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portatam, Owner at That Takes the Cake, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Bundys was sold May 21, 2012...the restaurant that was reviewed here is called "Eats Port A"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“WORST SERVICE EVER!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

They took 45 mins until we asked about our food. People that came 15 mins after us got their food before us and they had 3 more people than us. When we went up there they said they only wrote down 1 of our orders but still charged us for two. The tables weren't cleaned and no one checked up on us. I've lived here for 15 years and it's never been this bad. Once we got our food, it was ok I guess. It was extremely hot in there. This little boy was bring out the food, must've been about 10 or so. He dropped several things off of the plate and on to the floor. I will not return just because the service was absolutely horrible. Me and my boyfriend rated it a 1 out of a 10. Horrible.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portatam, Owner at That Takes the Cake, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Bundys is no longer in business. It was sold May 21st 2012, The restaurant in it's location is called Eats Port A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not too many choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We heard and read alot of good things about this place but it didnt live up to it. It was just a few pastries and muffins and some coffee. Not that great.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Former Owner at That Takes the Cake, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Bundys has changed owners. It was sold May 21, 2012. It is now Eats Port A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That Takes the Cake also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to That Takes the Cake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage That Takes the Cake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.