We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lisa Bella's Bistro & Java Bar

Lisa Bella's Bistro & Java Bar
5009 Highway 361, Cinnamon Shore, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5124
361-749-4222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 72 restaurants in Port Aransas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Blanco Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Five friends went to Lisa Bella's a few weekends ago. We had to wait until 8:45 to get seated because we had not made a reservation early enough. First of all, the signage to find the place is lacking. (We were told their sign blew down) Since the restaurant is not large, make a reservation if you want to come at a decent hour; at least on the weekends. We went earlier to check the place out and have a drink at the bar. The bartender seemed very new, I asked for a cosmo and he seemed out of his element but it came out fine. The food was excellent, the lobster enchiladas were yummy, the mussels were very tasty. The one negative is the noise, there's no acoustics and the sound bounces off the wood walls. There is a table in an enclave that is probably more quiet. All in all a nice addition to the Port A restaurant scene.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    36
    5
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“RIP OFF and RUDE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I purchased a Groupon to try this place out. It's about 45 min away from my home, and only after we received our bill did they say that they would not accept the Groupon because it was during spring break (even though the Groupon did not have any stipulations against using it during spring break). The manager, Kelly, said I could come back any time and use the Groupon (which was due to expire in 2 weeks). He said, even if it's expired, they will honor it.

When I called to make a reservation again, making sure to tell them that I had an expired Groupon that I was told I could still redeem, the owner, Kris said he would only honor the value that I paid for the Groupon ($20 is what I paid, $40 was the value of the Groupon). When I asked why he wouldn't grant the entire value of the Groupon that was originally promised to me in March, Kris said, "because I don't want to" and then hung up on me. Who does business like this?

Kris, take note, if you don't want to honor Groupons then don't buy into the promotion in the first place. And, if you lost a lot of money on this promotion (which I can only assume you did), don't take it out on your (former) customers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

we are really foodies and eat out twice a week at least. Lisa Bella is abolutely outstanding. Food, wine list, ambiance, service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lisabella's delivers good service with great food in upscale Atmosphere...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Excellent service the other night at Lisabella's. My friend and husband enjoyed the mermaid soup. They loved it! Then lobster enchiladas, grouper and mahgarita pizza. Everything was excellent! Yes the place is pricey but if you want Whataburger prices then go to Whataburger. The only thing I would change about the experience is the noise level. Extremely loud inside this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Lisabellas is one of the top places to eat for an upscale dining experience. Food is fresh and consistently good. Family owned with owner in the kitchen. Chef graduated from culinary institute and therefore well trained. Fish excellent but filet is my constant order. Great mussels for appetizer. Good atmosphere in new location. Quieter than old location and roomier. Only drawback is it is a bit out the island highway and not in Old Town. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisa Bella's Bistro & Java Bar also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lisa Bella's Bistro & Java Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisa Bella's Bistro & Java Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.