We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hamburgers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Horse Saloon & Grill

Wild Horse Saloon & Grill
212 Beach Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5312
361-749-0105
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 73 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: We are the locals sport bar and grill for Port Aransas. Best Burgers, Wings,and Booze! We offer 6 flat screens, NFL package and most Sports games if avail, Free Wifi, Dart boards, and a comfortable patio to indulge in island life!
Cottage Grove
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Hamburgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My Wife and I had Bacon Cheeseburgers which were the best
we've had in many years! They were cooked exactly the way
we ordered and the taste was fantastic. The peanut shells on the floor did not bother us - in fact we contributed to that.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best burger in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Order a burger medium rare and they cook it that way. Great burgers, great prices. Don't be in a hurry here. Also, it's a bar. If you can't stand smokers (I don't smoke), bar drama on occasion and peanut shells on the floor, you might be happier somewhere else. BUT, when you want a great burger and an ice cold beer, this is the place! Plenty of TVs to watch the game too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apleton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Didn't dissapoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We found this place based on recommendations of others and heard they received many awards for best BBQ.
The place is huge and there are statues of goofy looking horses everywhere. Feel free to take a picture next to them.....or on them:)
They have a big stage and a dance floor with dining tables surrounding it. The night we were there they were teaching guests line-dance and also had a great live performer later that night.

For dinner, we ordered one large sampler BBQ plate which contained 3 different meats and was definitely enough to share between two hungry people. It tasted great.

Our server was very friendly and attentive, although it looked like all the other staff members were just as great.

The atmosphere of this place is relaxed and laid-back, so if that's what you prefer, you will definitely enjoy this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A dive bar. Good drinks.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A smoky dive bar. Complimentray shelled peanuts. Cheap, strong drinks. Sports tv all around.

Good burgers if you don't look into the 'kitchen' area. You will enjoy your burger more if you do not see who and where it is prepared.

The bar is dark and smoky.

I feel like I am living the part of the movie 'Sweet Home Alabama' when she says "you have a baby...in a bar!". Not to mention the feral cat running around.

Come here before a shower and enjoy cheap drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I love this place....its like your little home town bar.....except on the island! You can get a wonderful burger and a budlight and sit back and watch the football game!! Not the most friendly service but it will do....

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Horse Saloon & Grill also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Wild Horse Saloon & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Horse Saloon & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.