We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week at the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Retreat
Save
You added Island Retreat to your Saves list
700 Island Retreat Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel amenities
Tulsa, OK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful week at the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We just returned from our first trip ever to Port A, TX. We booked our efficiency through the Island Retreat website and stayed in Unit #146. It was a great week at the beach. Our room was close to the boardwalk and just steps from one of the pools. Island Retreat was easy to find, office people were VERY friendly and helpful with directions and advice. Trash, towel service and maintenance people were wonderful. Only maintenance issue we had was a tripped circuit breaker that was taken care of very quickly. Hotel close to downtown restaurants, souvenir shops, grocery store and marina. Rent a golf cart!! It was great fun to drive on the beach with it!!

  • Liked — Very family-friendly, casual, laid back atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Mosquitos were a bit thick at times but not a major complaint.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    17
    8
    10
See reviews for
62
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

I called to cancel my online reservation after finding out that the Sandcastle had an opening (their pool is much bigger) and was notified of a $25 cancelation fee. I made the coment about not being aware of such policy and the operator strongly pointed out that it was mentioned in my confirmation e-mail. When I told her that it was not, she responded with an impatient tone on her voice, that it was posted on the website. The information about the cancelation fee is indeed posted on the website, just make sure you scroll down the fine print.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

I have been traveling to Port A for 25 years. By myself or with my 6 kids in tow. I have many friends that own properties there as well. I discovered Island Retreat about 5 years ago and have stayed there ever since. There is a unit that I have now fallen in love with. It's close to the pool and next to the beach walk way. The owners have decorated it with fun kid friendly items. It's cute and comfortable. Looking forward to more visits and I will request #146 from now on.

Beach bum!
Austin,TX

  • Liked — Clean and convient, it didn't feel like a hotel. It had personality.
  • Disliked — No internet access. No big deal!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panhandle Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

Showed up with confirmed reservations from the Texas Panhandle and when we arrived the clerk greeted and charged us for the remaining balance on our 3 bedroom condo. It was only when the clerk was showing us where the condo was located that he realized that the room we had reserved was burnt in a fire a few days ago (like 5 days). We were stuck with no place stay. We were told that they were working down their call list and we were at the bottom. The manager was apologetic but we still received no call letting us know. At the beach in the summer looking for a place to stay for 7 people for 3 nights, nightmare! Luckily found a place to stay, but will never recommend this place. Couldn't tell you if they have nice accomodations or not, because we never saw them!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimt09, Managing Agent at Island Retreat, responded to this review, July 15, 2008
Four Island Retreat units received minor damage from a recent incident that prevented occupancy. The guest was provided a full refund and accommodations at another property. In a follow-up telephone call with the guest after the trip, the guest family was offered complimentary nights upon their next Mustang Island visit. The staff and management of Island Retreat regrets this unfortunate incident and very much appreciates the guest's accepting the complimentary nights for a future trip to Port Aransas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

This is our second year to stay at Island Retreat for a week long extended family vacation. This year we booked unit #104 through Best Coast Rentals. Everything was awesome as usual and we all had a great time. Even the strong winds for the first few days didn't keep us out of the ocean or off the beach !! Condo had three bedrooms and 2 baths and plenty of room for our family. Fully furnished including the kitchen and a great view from the large balcony made it a wonderful place to stay. The boardwalk to the beach and to the pool were close and a great time was had by all. I would highly recommend it !!

  • Liked — Plenty of room and well kept up.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

For the past three years I've taken my inlaws to Island Retreat. We get the same unit every year #46.

This one in right in the middle of the complex second floor with a pool view and ocean view. Great for the 90 year old inlaws to sit out on the balcony and watch us all at the pool or coming from the beach. The best thing is that every year the owner has made yet another upgrade to their until. It is a two bedroom two bath full kitchen with everything you need and with a sleeper sofa in the living room so it can sleep 8 to 9.

This year we were so excited to see that the carpet was gone and the entire unit is now tile.

FYI we found out pets are not allowed unless you own a unit.

We think Unit #46 is the perfect place for the whole family and will be back next year. Can not wait to see what next years upgrades will bring! Ask for Unit 46!!!!

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

Friends booked one of the 3 bedroom condos for 8 of us. The price was great at $210 a night (off season).

The condo was # 107, which was second closest to the Beach and walkway to the beach. The view was awesome! Again price was the key and fun was had by all.

The size the place was HUGE! Tons of space and a great balcony.

There was a brochure that we all got a good laugh at. It seems they have not updated their brochure since the late 1970's. The photos were priceless. Check it out when you get to your room.

Pros:
Marker 10 on the beach, short walk to beach.
Close to a restaurant/bar at marker 9 on beach.
Pool was great
Easy parking
Condo LARGE (3 room on 3rd floor)

Cons:
There was no salt or pepper in the condo (yes we forgot ours), but who does not leave a few simple items like salt and pepper?
The A/C, which was plentiful in the main room and kitchen area, was minimal in the rear two bedrooms. (fought this with a box fan we brought, and left the bedroom doors open at night).

  • Liked — Price and Location/Close to Beach
  • Disliked — A/C did not cool all rooms :(
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Retreat

Address: 700 Island Retreat Road, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended budget accommodation for families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Retreat Hotel Port Aransas
Island Retreat Port Aransas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.