We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place!”
Review of Cafe Phoenix

229 Beach St, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4322
361-749-9277
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 70 restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
17 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    64
    25
    5
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Cafe Phoenix
See the most recent reviews
San Antonio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great little place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is SMALL. Only 8 or 9 tables total, and not enough room for large parties....but, if you want a great meal you have to try this place. The gyro and thunderbird are superb!! I believe they're only open for lunch though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Small, intimate but noisy. Kitchen spills into dining area, as does its smoke and cooking odors. Food is spectacular. Maybe the best in Port Aransas. Pricey. Parking is awful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a wonderful lunch with 3 friends at Cafe Phoenix yesterday. Food was superb and service was excellent. What a wonderful little jewel in Port A!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great food, but if you order an appetizer, get it at the same time as your meal. Long wait! Food was fabulous. Tempura veggies were wonderful! We love this place. We were given a complimentary dessert ( luscious coconut cream pie) because of our wait.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Will never try this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We have tried 3x to get to this place. It's not open on S/M and we tried to walk in at 1:28pm on a Tuesday and our "greeter" said she had to ask the cooks if we could be let in. Huh?! The sign says they are open until 2pm. We determined they are no longer worth it. We ate at Beaches Cafe and Bakery and it was great! Our waiter was very nice and it was worth every penny! Thank you Beaches for taking our $$ and giving us great customer service!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Phoenix also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.