We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Phoenix

Cafe Phoenix
229 Beach St, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4322
361-749-9277
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 76 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dallas TX USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Small, intimate but noisy. Kitchen spills into dining area, as does its smoke and cooking odors. Food is spectacular. Maybe the best in Port Aransas. Pricey. Parking is awful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    37
    15
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a wonderful lunch with 3 friends at Cafe Phoenix yesterday. Food was superb and service was excellent. What a wonderful little jewel in Port A!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great food, but if you order an appetizer, get it at the same time as your meal. Long wait! Food was fabulous. Tempura veggies were wonderful! We love this place. We were given a complimentary dessert ( luscious coconut cream pie) because of our wait.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Will never try this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have tried 3x to get to this place. It's not open on S/M and we tried to walk in at 1:28pm on a Tuesday and our "greeter" said she had to ask the cooks if we could be let in. Huh?! The sign says they are open until 2pm. We determined they are no longer worth it. We ate at Beaches Cafe and Bakery and it was great! Our waiter was very nice and it was worth every penny! Thank you Beaches for taking our $$ and giving us great customer service!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on a Saturday. Delicious sandwiches and amazing iced tea. They also offered an Asian slaw on the side that was crisp and fresh tasting. Perfect!

Something to note: it's a small place with not too many tables. I'm sure some days there's a wait. There was one waitress handling all the tables. So our server didn't linger with us very long but she made sure everyone was served and drinks were refreshed quickly. I'm sure there was a similar small staff in the kitchen, too. It did take about fifteen minutes to get our food after we ordered but it was so delicious I couldn't be bothered.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Phoenix also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.