We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in the off season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   6317 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel amenities
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place in the off season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have stayed there in the summer (peak season) and it's nice, but my wife and I prefer to stay there in the off season. That's anywhere from mid September to mid May. Our favorite time is when all schools have started in about mid September. The water and air temp is still great and the beaches and pools are blissfully roomy. We also like to go in January or February, since we have so many beautiful sunny days in the winter (but not always). The "snow birds" in the winter are real hoot, and the crowds are non-existent. The two bedroom condos in the winter (along with a special) can as reasonable as a Best Western. When there are no specials we often go with another couple and split the cost. The two bedroom is great for that.

The grounds are beautiful and the newly renovated pools are awesome. They have a dining room that is pretty good if you don't want to cook in your room or take the 15 minute drive back into Port A. We really like this place and feel very comfortable there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    109
    51
    56
    43
See reviews for
201
38
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Location was good! The booking agents were great and super nice! They helped moved us from a 2 bedroom to a 3 bedroom a few days before our stay. Cleaning and service staff was very nice but poolside food and beverage service was very slow. Be sure to bring a beach towel to the pool as their pool towels and their room towels are very small and very skimpy. They are more like large hand towels. Access to the beach was convenient and the pools were fantastic. The kid's pool place was great for our little one. During our stay, there were several events scheduled for guests.

While each condo is privately owned, the resort rental agreements should include mandatory renovations and updates for the room price of approx $300/night. Our 3 bedroom was spacious but very, very dated. A simple coat of paint would have made a huge improvement as the walls and baseboards were worn and not so clean. The recliner was so worn is was hardly useable. The decor reminded me of something from an episode of the Golden Girls. The kitchen supplies were also.very old and overused. The stove, washer, dryer and dishwasher were put to use by our group but again, the machines were old and very noisy. Our unit had mis-matched tile floors and no area rugs or floor rugs. The lighting was poor and balcony furniture was cheap. It wouldn't take much effort to make this room more enjoyable. We were told that the 3 bedrooms were very nice. Considering the room that we got, I would seriously disagree. It was functional but not worth the price. Perhaps other rooms are better?

Overall, we had a good stay but in going back I would prefer to request pictures of the room before we booked. However, I am told they assign rooms on check-in so that may not work. It's probably not fair that they charge the same rate for updated rooms vs those that haven't been updated.

Simply put, if our room was nicer and just updated an above average review could have been selected.

Room Tip: Ask to see pictures of the room assignments. Be specific in your requests,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I figured out why some reviews are outstanding and some are poor for this hotel. Its a condo hotel and the owners give it a glowing report while the other guests give it an honest review. Yes they have a GREAT pool but you can't use it even on 80 degree days cause its not heated. Only the small heated pool and 3 hot tubs are usable. Truth is this is an old hotel, with repairs needed and uncomfortable beds. Rooms are clean but dated. But not woth the $250 plus tax and RESORT fees bringing your total to over $300 a night. I expect better for that price.

Hotel is also very isolated being miles from any restuarant or store.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo for 6 nights at the end of February. Got a really good deal. It was a great stay even though the weather was cool and foggy. We made good use of the whirlpools and heated pool. It was nice to be able to walk down the boardwalk to the beach. The staff, especially Keeta, was very friendly and remembered us from day to day. The condo was nice and clean. The bathroom was clean. It was great to have a washer and dryer in the unit. There was maid service each day which is something we didn't expect from other condos we have stayed in. The only thing I would say is to get a more comfortable couch...but since each unit is different it is hard to tell what you will get. We did go to the on-site restaurant on a Friday night. The food was good although we thought it was high priced and did not have "family" prices. We did not have children with us so it was fine for us but a family with 4 children got up and left. I think that should be changed since it is the only restaurant around unless you want to by from the "over the counter" bistro downstairs.

Like I said, we were there in February. Not sure how busy it would be during spring break or summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

What an awesome place!! Although the weather was nice, we made good use of the hot tubs. Staff very friendly and accomodating. The 2 bedroom was very nice and comfortable. The resturant was not open during my staff so ate at the bristo in the hotel. Would have loved to been there when the resturant was open. Will definitely come back here and recommend this place to anyone I know going to South Texas!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I had a very good stay here. I stayed in a 2 bedroom condo overlooking the pool area. It was beautiful, clean and lots to do. The only bad thing was the weather wasn't good. I would love to go back. I might wait until later in March the next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just went for a 2 night stay. We had a one bedroom looking over the pool. The weather was a little chilly but made the most of it. The staff was friendly and if we needed something just let them know. Room was ready at 10am like we requested. The pool and slide was closed for maintenance. We enjoyed the hot tubs that were open. Nice to have a bistro area and store at your service. The condo was clean and nice the bed was a little uncomfortable. Told front desk at check they need to upgrade bed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center

Address: 6317 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AN ISLAND VILLAGE... with all the amenities of modern civilization, we are the premier Texas resort for family fun and group events on the Gulf of Mexico. Come visit Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center, nestled among the dunes of Mustang Island in Port Aransas, Texas.We think the sea, sun and fun should be part of every memorable business meeting and vacation getaway. Miles of uncrowded beaches, tropical elegance, mild temperatures and majestic wildlife make it possible to beachcomb, frolic and enjoy the Royal Treatment year 'round at Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center.You won't find a more luxurious, full-service resort anywhere else on the Texas Gulf Coast...where the sun rises from the sea each morning to greet you with a Royal Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Ocean Resort And Conference Center
Port Royal Ocean Hotel Port Aransas
Port Royal Condos Port Aransas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.