We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   6317 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel amenities
McGregor, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 days/3 nights and had a great time. We were given 3108 and the condo is nicely decorated and remodeled. Master BR is nice with a walk-in closet and big bathroom with his/her sinks and large shower! It's a pool view and a partial gulf view.
Pool is awesome and we loved the swim up bar.
Free wi-fi and covered parking is a plus!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Lori,

Thank you for your feedback and awesome pictures of Port Royal Resort! I am thrilled that you had a great stay with us and were able to enjoy the swim-up Cabana Bar as well as the pool! Hopefully you will return very soon now that the Cabana Bar is complete!

We really appreciate your business and hope to see you soon,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    135
    67
    61
    46
See reviews for
269
63
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very disappointed. The 1bedroom condo is Golden Girls without the gold. 1980 tv that does work, parking on grass only, dirty dirty dirty. Stairwells are cleaner on the subway. Cafe is advertised open until 11pm but closes @ 10. For these prices go to the Comfort Inn!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

OK so the weather was not great when we arrived which didnt help our overall impression. It was force 10 gales, cloudy and grey. The plus side of this place was our condo which was big, tastefully furnished, comfortable with all amenities. The downsides: the resort had a slightly run down feel, parts were very tatty, although we were visiting in May and renovation was ongoing. The pool is great, enourmous and empty. The shop on site was expensive for soft drinks, beers, wine and groceries, I did point this out and was told these were 'Island prices' although the supermarket in Port Aransas was alot cheaper. Had an issue with a big party of school/ college kids shouting and running up and down the corridors at 1am. I complained and security were sent to sort it out. Maybe would go back for the pool but thats it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Charlie,

Thank you for your comments - we really appreciate you taking the time to review Port Royal Resort. I'm glad you enjoyed your condo as well as the updated pool! I'm also glad that security was able to help with some inconveniences. We were in the middle of pool renovations during your stay and are now focused on many other parts of the resort. Now that the pool is complete, we hope you will return!

Thank you again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have gone to Port Royal many, many times over the last fifteen years, but unfortunately had not been there in six years. Based upon previous recent reviews, I was anticipating finding a worn down, dirty facility with little to no customer service. We were very happy to find just the opposite! Since each unit is individually owned and maintained, it can be a hit or miss with the rooms. Based upon other comments, we specifically requested to NOT be given one of the penthouses (2303) and management gladly complied - giving us 2304. The room was clean, nicely furnished and adequately supplied. Those who are expecting a hotel room may be disappointed, but anyone used to renting condos will find these rooms more than acceptable. The renovations to the pool area turned something good into something great, with the pool area never feeling crowded, even at the peak times. As for comments about the service - agreed that the housekeeping was limited (it was obvious that the showers were not always cleaned during our stay), but we never came across anyone who was not pleasant and helpful, from check in, to the restaurant, to the boardwalk attendees, to the lifeguards to misc workers throughout the property. We were told that the next phase in renovations is to the condos themselves, and if they do as good a job on those as they did with the pool area, Port Royal will be outstanding! We are looking forward to our next visit (which will definitely be MUCH sooner than another six years)!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi Linda,

Thank you for your kind words! I am so glad that you had a great time and enjoyed all Port Royal has to offer, especially the customer service. We are also thrilled that you were able to see all of the changes after six years! And, yes, we do have plans to update the condos once the pool is wrapped up.

We hope to see you again very soon,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The facilities are great. The pool is simply amazing. The boardwalk to the beach is wonderful. This resort has it all..store, room service, restaurant, tennis court, poolside bar & grill. My family only left the property once to explore the precious City of Port Aransas.
My critique would be house keeping. They are out of control. I recommend you do not stay in building 4000. The views are spectacular, but this building is housekeepings base. When I checked in I had to track down the owner of the vehicle parked in my space. It was housekeeping! It happened 3 times to me! The housekeeper would just move into another assigned space! They linger around this building, are loud, and have horrible attitudes. They are dropped off & picked up at building 4000. They need supervision.
I also suggest Port Royal fixes the area where you rinse off when returning from the beach. Faucets don't work, slab is cracked.
I will return, but will request another building.

Room Tip: DO Not stay in the 4000 building. Housekeepers are loud, angry, and park in your assigned space! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi Peyton,

Thank you so much for your great review of Port Royal. I am glad that you had a great time not only at Port Royal, but on the Texas Coast as well! It's awesome that you were able to utilize the brand new Cabana Bar as well. I have notified management about your Housekeeping concerns and apologize for the inconvenience.

We hope that you are able to return very soon,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock, TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very nice resort! KIds will love this with the large pools and water slide. Has great access to the beach and restaurant was very good. Was a little pricey but was in a good location. We went into town for supper at nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you and your family were able to visit and enjoy the pool and beach as well as Restaurant 361. Maybe next time you can all try out the All You Can Eat Fried Shrimp Platter in the restaurant!

Thank you again and we hope to see you very soon,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Been a loyal Port Royal person for many years...just can't beat that pool for the kids & grandkids. Lots of good memories.They spent money on the pool improvements but need some time & money spent on the condos. Some are getting really run down & not to mention NOT CLEAN. There should be some sort of standard required if you want your condo in the rental pool since they won't let you reserve a certain one, it's a luck of the draw as to which one you get to stay in. When you stay 3 nights during the summer in a 2 bedroom, you are spending right at $2,000 & for that I expect a clean room & housekeeping daily. Well apparently that's not the case anymore. After coming in from a day at the beach we find no one had been in to refresh the room or bring towels. We called & got some excuse & then they brought towels. 2nd day they changed out towels & made up one bed. No cleaning was done at all which was in need of desperately (see photos). There was black mold on the glass block showers in master bath & on sink rim. The housekeeping crew appeared to be teenagers which might explain the lack of cleaning issue. Hallways are looking very "trashy" , peeling paint & literally trash everywhere. This remained that way thru out stay & there was always quite a bit right at your doorway into unit. It's just very sad to see this place go downhill so badly. I really don't think people will continue to pay premium prices for "dumpy, dirty rooms". I won't & unless they take care of these issues, don't think they can rest on their "glory days" much longer. Don't bother filling out the customer survey they email after your stay because apparently no one reads it or cares. I tried that first, thinking manager might respond back & apologize for conditions, etc.You don't get any response at all. There are a lot of other condos at Port A, suggest you opt for them until Port Royal gets back up to standards (if they ever do).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Community Relations Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Deborah,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Port Royal Resort. I apologize for all of the inconveniences during your stay, especially with housekeeping and want you to know that I have discussed all of these issues with management. We do have a standard for the condos but unfortunately the tastes of the owners and guests don't always match up. Having all of the condos updating is on our agenda now that the pool is complete. While we don't get to respond to every single one, we do take the guest surveys very seriously and do take action when we can.

We sincerely hope that you and your family will continue to visit us.

Thank you again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center

Address: 6317 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AN ISLAND VILLAGE... with all the amenities of modern civilization, we are the premier Texas resort for family fun and group events on the Gulf of Mexico. Come visit Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center, nestled among the dunes of Mustang Island in Port Aransas, Texas.We think the sea, sun and fun should be part of every memorable business meeting and vacation getaway. Miles of uncrowded beaches, tropical elegance, mild temperatures and majestic wildlife make it possible to beachcomb, frolic and enjoy the Royal Treatment year 'round at Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center.You won't find a more luxurious, full-service resort anywhere else on the Texas Gulf Coast...where the sun rises from the sea each morning to greet you with a Royal Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Ocean Resort And Conference Center
Port Royal Ocean Hotel Port Aransas
Port Royal Condos Port Aransas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.