We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs cleaning and remodeling” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   6317 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373   |  
Hotel amenities
Georgetown, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needs cleaning and remodeling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We used to go here a lot, and then we got a fifth wheel and have traveled with it. We decided to leave the fifth wheel at home and go to Port Royal. We regretted that decision. It as the end of the summer and most of the units were not up to standard. They should be, right ? Shouldn't a condo you are paying $$$ for be clean ? In the first room the view of the pool was totally blocked with a post. They showed us a couple other rooms. The first one was really filthy--it looked like spring breakers had spilled food all over the floor and stained it. Clearly it hadn't been cleaned. For the price -- for any price-- I wouldn't stay in that room. The floors were stained - it felt really grungy. Everybody wants a nice clean place to stay. To their credit, they showed us a third room which we were able to accept. It was clean. The furniture wasn't very comfortable but it was clean. We hadn't been told the pool was under construction. Frankly, the pool was a big part of the reason we went - to sit around it and enjoy. We wished we had taken our fifth wheel and stayed at Gulf Waters RV. We no longer feel comfortable recommending Port Royal.

Room Tip: This will be difficult. If they are all booked up, you may not get a room to your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    80
    39
    39
    38
See reviews for
145
19
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here over a four day weekend as part of a high school band trip. This was my first trip here but our band has stayed here before and I had heard good things about the experience. All in all things went well and we were very happy.

First potential issue was that there was some kind of miscommunication between our group and the travel agent and the hotel, and they had us here Thursday through Sunday instead of Friday through Monday. We found this out the morning we were leaving. We called the hotel from the road and they were immediately able to accomodate the change.

Checkin was really well done considering we had three busses of students and chaperones. They had a staff member board each bus and explain their rules while we made room assignments. They also let our band and orchestra use the ballroom for practice sessions and to store the larger instruments. The staff was really good and helped us with a lot of little things that made the trip much easier for the chaperones.

The condos were nice. We had some one bedroom condos but most of them were two bedroom versions that we put 6 kids in. All of the ones I saw were nice. Our kitchen was stocked with utensils and cookware, full size fridge, and had a dishwasher and a washer and dryer.

As I write this, a part of the pool area was under construction. However, they have two hot tubs, two large pools, a lap pool, and a splash area open. This was plenty of pool space for all of the groups there over the weekend. They have multiple lifeguards on duty at all times the pool is open. They also have multiple grills you can use if you have some charcoal.

The beach are is a short walk. It is very clean with a very wide open and flat sand area.

We had a great weekend and were very pleased with the facility. This trip has turned into an every-other-year event and I can't imagine we won't be back in two years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

excellent rooms and kitchen. the first evening, the front desk called to see if things were ok and if we needed anthing. never had this happen in my travel. will stay here again. very clean. the kitchen was veryclean and updated. all the furniture was good

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your unit as well as your time spent with us. Hopefully you are able to make it down again soon!

Thank you again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have stayed at Port Royal and really like it. This year, we went for Easter weekend, and a significant portion of the pools were under construction. Our room was overlooking the construction zone. In all fairness, they did tell us there would be construction in the pool area but we didn't realize that we would reduce the quality of our stay. Also, we were in a non-smoking two bedroom suite, but it smelled like stale smoke when we got checked in. Also I think Easter overlapped with some college spring breaks, as we had a lot of noise at 2am! As always, we love the easy walk to the beach on the boardwalk and the roominess of the condos. I also think the bathroom may have been remodeled; very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. I apologize for the construction lowering the quality of your stay, but am very glad that you enjoyed your remodeled unit and the beach.

Easter is generally a busier time for us as many families want to spend their holidays with us. We do hope that the construction did not discourage you and you will come and visit us when the pool is complete!

Thank you again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent a week at Port Royal for our spring break vacation and had a GREAT time. We had done some research before we arrived, so the construction wasn't a surprise and it didn't bother us at all. The new kids spray park and shallow-depth heated kiddie pool was AWESOME. My 4 year old had a great time playing with other kids at the resort and my 1 year old could sit in the shallow-depth pool (with a grown-up, of course) and enjoy the water too. The beach is just a short board-walk trip across the sand dunes and is clean and beautiful. We spent time at the beach every day -- catching fiddler crabs, boogie boarding, swimming, chasing waves, building sand castles. My kids loved it!

Our individual unit was clean, spacious, and very nice. The carpet could probably be replaced, but that's getting pretty nit-picky. Our appliances worked great and we loved having a full kitchen. Another member of our family had another unit and it was very nice as well. Yes, we could hear some noise from our upstairs neighbors, but it was never enough to bother us. Since we were long-term renters, we only had housekeeping services once per week. The housekeeping staff was friendly and willing to help us with whatever we needed.

General check-in was smooth and staff was friendly. There is a parking monitor out front to make sure that cars on the property are supposed to be there. They were always friendly and it gave us a feeling of increased security on the property. It seemed like we always saw someone cleaning somewhere on the property. Everything was in very nice shape!

When we arrived, the traffic on Port A was horrendous and we found out it was the last day of Texas spring break. The next day, it was a comparative ghost town. We often had the beach, pool, or hot tub to ourselves during our stay. If you're traveling during the Texas spring break, be prepared for more crowds and traffic -- but don't let that stop you! You will still have a good time!

Overall, we had a fantastic family vacation. Don't hesitate to book your reservation here. I can't wait to go back next year and see their big, new improved pool area.

Room Tip: We were in a 3 bedroom unit in building 4, which meant our balcony overlooked the ocean. I think bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome and detailed review of our resort.

We are thrilled that you and your family had such a great time with us and were able to test out the new children's splash area and heated pool!

We can't wait for you all to return and see the finished product! Please come back soon.

Thank you again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just got back from spring trip. This is our fourth time at Port Royal condos. We've been in two and one bedrooms. Currently the pool is being remodeled and an unsightly mess. Have to walk all around to get to beach. he beach was very clean though! We loved it.

The supposed lap pool just added is merely a heated rectangle pool for kids and volleyball. prob because 3/4 of its pools are closed. The hot tub closes at 11 pm - a real bummer in my opinion, maybe mid it is better. The help affront desk was very helpful!!!! We have never eaten in restaurant, so no opinion there. Towels are small, but we bring our own. also you have to bring your own beach towels, no big deal. I think the rooms are good sized, sofa couch was queen size, nice!!!!
The store there sells a little of everyone, nice, but they close at 9pm, wish that was 10pm.
The condo complex is located exactly in middle of island, nice location to port aransas, and to Corpus Christi.
No problems with roudy guests, they have security outside that keeps the place secure and nice.

Room Tip: Ask if room has sofa couch and what size, all rooms are a little different unfortunately. Pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for providing us with great feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience of the remodeling, but we are glad that you had a great time at the beach! We are also thrilled to hear that the front desk was helpful.

On the weekends, the hot tub and pool area are open until midnight and the Port Store is open until 10 p.m. However, I have mentioned your suggestions to management!

We do hope that you will return once it is finished. It will be awesome!

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were excited to be staying in Port A for the first time. It was spring break but I can't say we were bothered by the drunk teenagers.

First know, this is a fishing place, swimming in the ocean is NOT the main attraction. It is very nice that Port Royale has a boardwalk directly attached to the beach, but you aren't right on the beach. We thought there would be lounge chairs on the beach, not so. It is a public beach, you can't take the port Royale towels down to the beach.

Because of the major construction, you have to walk through the parking garage to get to the boardwalk. Kinda gross and not attractive. A big pool was open but too cold to get in. The one open hot tub was super packed, and the heated lap pool was so packed the water was murky. Don't get me wrong, once construction on the pools are complete, they will be awesome. But be aware of what phase they are in.

This isn't a luxury place with luxury rooms. They are sufficient and well priced but don't encourage you to stay in much. And as a side note, the towels are tiny! Again, this might be what you are looking for, just sufficient, but wanted to let you know.

We won't come back, just because it didn't end up being our type of place. That shouldn't discourage you, just ask the right questions about the construction and understand what you are getting.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Sara,

Thank you so much for your feedback and helpful comments. It is unfortunate that you won't be returning, but hopefully one day you will give Port Royal another chance.

Thank you again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center

Also Known As:
Port Royal Ocean Hotel Port Aransas
Port Royal Ocean Hotel
Port Royal Ocean Resort And Conference Center
Port Royal Condos Port Aransas
Address: 6317 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Specialty lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AN ISLAND VILLAGE... with all the amenities of modern civilization, we are the premier Texas resort for family fun and group events on the Gulf of Mexico. Come visit Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center, nestled among the dunes of Mustang Island in Port Aransas, Texas.We think the sea, sun and fun should be part of every memorable business meeting and vacation getaway. Miles of uncrowded beaches, tropical elegance, mild temperatures and majestic wildlife make it possible to beachcomb, frolic and enjoy the Royal Treatment year 'round at Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center.You won't find a more luxurious, full-service resort anywhere else on the Texas Gulf Coast...where the sun rises from the sea each morning to greet you with a Royal Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.